• Subscribe to receive email notifications of new posts.

  • Archives

  • Categories

Weekend Thoughts

Editing

I feel as if I’ve been running a marathon for the last three months. Of course, NaNoWriMo is a marathon, and that’s where this one started. I’m not sure when I set myself the goal of getting Privileged Lives published by the end of January, or early February at the latest. Certainly not at the end of November. I was going to do the usual thing–put the novel away for a while and work on something else. Instead, it grabbed me and said “Now!” I resisted, but it won. This morning, there are only three chapters left to edit, and I’m looking at the darned thing and wondering how it managed to grow from 74k to 93k. Even more, I’m wondering why it should take four drafts to get it to where it is now.

My first drafts tend to be very lean, and that’s something I need to work on. As I worked through the drafts, I kept seeing how I could have developed this or that detail more thoroughly the first time around–or at least the second. So that’s a goal with any new work I start this year.

Book reviews

There’s an interesting discussion going on over at Limebird Writers–Bad Reviews — Should I Speak or Forever Hold My Peace?¬†All kinds of considerations go into reviewing a book. One that hangs a lot of people up is knowing the writer. What do you do when a friend’s book turns out to be a dud?

In my comment, I said that I won’t post a review unless I can give it at least three stars, regardless of who wrote it. Then I realized that I stick to that only when I review a book on my blog. On Goodreads, I’ll go as low as two stars, and, very rarely, one star. One-star books are such dreck that it’s usually a waste of time to review them at all, but I’m not nothing, if not oppositional. Sometimes, when I’ve been trapped by glowing reviews into buying and reading a truly dreadful book, I just have to say something about it. I hardly ever rely on just the reviews, but even the very worst books can fool you with a sample that seems to offer something of value. It turns out that writers are wising up to samples and some of them will edit the sample until it glows, but leave the rest of the book a glomming mess.

So there’s an element of pissed-offness that enters into my decision to review and rate a piece of garbage, or something that isn’t quite that bad and might have risen to three or even four stars if someone had bothered to vet it. Mainly, though, I think there’s a need for dissenting opinions, in book reviews as much as anywhere else. One or two well thought-out dissenting opinions have turned me away from books that would have been a waste of my money and time. I think readers deserve that.

 

4 Comments

  1. I too rarely bother to rate and review below 3 stars because if the book is that bad, I would usually abandon it after a few pages (hopefully of the free sample) and I tend not to spend time reviewing work that I didn’t want to spend time reading. Some of my harshest ratings are actually reserved for favourite, big name writers whose latest book has disappointed me. Not sure if that is fair.
    I can see the merit though of warning other readers into not being gullled into wasting their time and money on rubbish presented as something better.

  2. Congratulations on only having three chapters left to edit. I was in the middle of writing a novel otherwise I was going to do NaNo this year. I’ve read a number of blog recently where people are putting the finishing touches to work they started with NaNo and I’m leaning towards starting my next novel this November.

    I agree about the star ratings. If it’s that bad I wouldn’t want to finish the book so doubtful for writing a review. I do want to write reviews for good books, share the love! :)

  3. Hi, Pete. I’ve gotten in the habit of holding out one novel just for NaNo. And whatever else I’m working on at the time, I drop it during November. I accomplish so much during that one high-pressure month that it’s worth it. Also, if you’re interested, look into Camp NaNoWriMo. Two sessions each summer. As soon as I get this novel out of the way, I’ll get back to making notes for the June session.

  4. That sounds like a good plan. I’ll look into Camp NaNoWriMo. Thanks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 226 other followers

