• Subscribe to receive email notifications of new posts.

  • Archives

  • Categories

Back on the Shelf

Gift of the Ancien just got the critique it needed, and it’s not ready for prime time. So I’m just as glad that I burned out and stopped editing it. The whole structure needs to be torn down and rebuilt, and that will mean rewriting most of the characters. You might think this is a big downer, but I’m very happy about it. There were things I wasn’t happy with and I sensed that there were other problems. But it took a very insightful person to lay them all out clearly. I’d credit her here, but she might not want to be identified.

I’ll continue working on The Warden until NaNo rolls around, and Ancien will just percolate in the back of my mind for however long it takes. Could be months more, or it might suddenly all come clear. One of the joys of writing — surprises.

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

