And Now, the Hard Part

Now that I’ve filled the gaping holes where conflict and drama need to be, I’m getting down to the serious work of — outlining. There’s nothing like advancing scene by scene through your novel to show you exactly where you don’t know what the hell to do next. Otherwise known as “Where do we go from here?” It’s very humbling to have spent months in deep thought and believing that you had a pretty good grip on your story, to find that there are more deep holes to negotiate. That the next rung on the ladder seems to be missing. That your characters are standing around, wondering which of them is supposed to be stage front. You discover that all those lovely scenes you’ve been envisioning in your head have to come from somewhere and go somewhere.

3 thoughts on “And Now, the Hard Part

  1. You seem quite busy on your outline. I can’t say I have done anything in the last week to prepare. I suppose I should get started.

    Also by the way, they announced a preview copy of Scrivener 2 on Oct 25 and the full release on November 1st.

    Also I am planning on doing that author interview by Monday. I hope you’ll check it out.

  2. I probably won’t bother with the preview. I’ll download and pay for the new version and put it aside until after NaNo. I don’t need any distractions, and I prefer to stay with what I know when time is of the essence.

    I’m working my butt off on outlining, scene by scene, plus filling out the cast. I’m beginning to think in terms of a stage play, where some of the characters seem to just stand around and do nothing. Outlining by scenes is helping me see how static that is.

    I’m not much on author interviews, usually, but I’ll check it out.

  3. I downloaded the Nanowrimo trial of Scrivener 2 today. It goes on sale officially next week. I didn’t get to play with it much but it looked very refined and streamlined. It has some cool features like having some templates with defined folders..characters, places etc.

    I am thinking about bringing in my existing project piece by piece rather than just importing it so I can take advantage of some of the new labels and notes features. I am hoping to go through the tutorial tomorrow and get my project setup for the upcoming month its getting exciting.

    You know that is something I am struggling with too. Right now they tend to have conversations by phone or in person and that is the only way the reader gets any backstory. I feel like I am constantly going “how is the reader going learn about trial that sent character B into the military?” “I know character and so and so will meet here and talk about it” what? Not a lot of action in my story yet. There has to be some other ways to further the story..

    Anyway thinks for checking out the blog. I hope to have the interview done by Thursday.

    Keep up the good work, November is almost here.

Leave a Reply

