Poor Excuse for an Update

This may turn out to be my first completely non-productive NaNo day. Staying up till 1:00 am doesn’t do much for my head except make it hurt. I’ve been seeing the makings of a long list of details that the book will need eventually. I’ve been concentrating so much on the characters that everything else has fallen by the wayside.

Much needed:
Social and political background that led up to the new penal system
Description of Den’s prison and the grounds it’s set in
Description of Den’s office and the cameras that monitor every room
The discipline and isolation rooms
How the inmates are dressed, and the GPS ID bracelets that they wear
More about the inmates’ day to day life

Most of that is in my notes or in my head, so it’s just a matter of fitting it all in. Unless I come up short this month, it will all wait until it’s second-draft time.

29,486 words as of last night. Nothing today, but there are miles to go before I sleep. Sometimes, the evening brings a last-minute spurt to redeem a bad day.

Leave a Reply

