Keeping Count

It seems that I’m pretty rotten at keeping count. I was hoping to reach 35k today and it didn’t look as if I was going to make it. Couldn’t think of another word to write, and it just wasn’t there. Then, lo and behold I used one of Scrivener’s neat features that I’d always ignored and found that my word count was off by about 200. So I scraped by tonight with 35,005 words.

Each day is a separate file, and I’ve been trying to keep adding as I go along.  “Scrivenings” lets you compile any combination of files into one, temporarily, so that’s it’s easier to move from one to the other for editing. I double checked its word count the old fashioned way, via calculator and it was correct. Seems I’ve just eliminated all the hassle of adding up words several times a day. One more reason to love Scrivener.

Leave a Reply

