Return of the Monster

I’m way behind where I hoped to be in my novel by this time, but way ahead of the official word count. If I can break out of the lethargy that’s been dragging me down, I’ll hit 40k today. But I thought I’d be at 50k and moving ahead. Instead, an old bogey man has popped up out of nowhere to plague me. I have a story I really like, and that I hope to turn into a finished novel. I know where I’m going with it, and even found the ending that was hiding from me for a long time.

I planned this one out the same way I did last year’s, but this time, all that planning has become a problem, one that I’d hoped I’d conquered. Because I’ve already thought it through so thoroughly, it’s boring as hell to write it down. Some people call it overthinking, but I’m not a spontaneous writer, and my imagination needs time to simmer on the back of the stove. So I’m between a rock and a hard place, caught between the work that was necessary for the novel to come to life at all, and the ennui that couldn’t care less.

3 thoughts on “Return of the Monster

  1. The first part of the second paragraph sounds exactly like me, but the thing is I am a spontaneous writer and it’s very annoying to be like me.
    But sometimes I conquer one of my problems too and I edit a short story/poem and it ends up really nice and I feel proud…a bit.

    Keep writing! 🙂

  2. Overplanning can take some of the fun out of it, but hopefully you like your characters enough to want to see it out to the proper ending. I am more spontaneous with writing than I am a planner. I like to start with characters and dilemmas, but I don’t try to discover the ending until it’s almost upon me. I play a game with myself, pretend I am a reader and try to guess how it will end; sometimes I am right and sometimes I am wrong. But I’m sure you will find a way to reignite the spark.

  3. It was just one of those temporary things, thank goodness. I usually get over them in a few days, but they can really slow things down. The interesting thing about this novel was, that for all the planning, I had no idea how it was going to end. It came to me unexpectedly only a day ago, and it was completely unexpected, but made perfect sense. I use the planning as a framework. Without it, I can’t function at all, but I don’t let it be a straitjacket.

Leave a Reply

