Moving on From NaNoWriMo

I’ve always intended this blog to be a resource for indie writers as well as a yearly plunge into the madness of NaNo, so my mind is beginning to turn that way now. The plan is finish The Warden by the end of the month and then go back to the final revision and copy editing of Boundaries. When Boundaries is ready for publication, the fun will begin — formatting it properly as an ebook, and publishing it on Smashwords. Once that’s done, I’ll look into the possibility of a paper edition, using either Lulu or Createspace.

 
I have personal reasons for self-publishing, and I’ll probably talk about them as I go along, but mostly I’ll be posting practical information and links to articles and blog posts from authors who self-publish. I’ll also be adding to the Resources in the sidebar.

 
I’m a big fan of Smashwords, and that’s where I’ll be publishing my books. It’s become a premier site for indie authors, and I’ll be writing about why it’s a good place to publish your ebooks, and what it offers. And that brings me to a change in direction. I started a blog on Blogspot, which I intended to be promotion for Smashwords and for the authors who publish there. Knowing that NaNo was coming up, I didn’t do much with it. Just set it up and posted an explanation and a few links. Now I’m thinking about just dropping that blog and incorporating everything I was going to do with it into this one.

 
One of the things I love about Smashwords is that authors can elect to display a percentage of their books for readers. I’m always looking for new books to read, and being able to read a sizable chunk for free lets me know whether it’s a book worth paying for. When I find an interesting, well-written book I want to let other people know about it, just as I hope my books will get around by word of mouth when they’re published. So, the plan is to post short reviews of the free content, along with the word count, category, price, and other information. Now and then, I’ll feature an author rather than one specific book.

 
Now for the big question. How many of my readers would be interested in that type of review? This is still in the planning stages, and I don’t want to spend a lot of time looking for and reviewing books if no one is interested.

One thought on “Moving on From NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

