Scattershot Finish to the Year

I’m not a celebratory kind of person, so holidays are pretty much like the rest of the days of the year, as far as I’m concerned. But, even knowing that the end of the year is a purely human creation having nothing to do with the passage of time, it’s still nice to look back a ways.

The general consensus seems to be that 2010 has been a very bad, terrible year, and for the world in general and too many people, that’s true. My 2010 was an amazing year, and one worth remembering.

It was the year when I finally broke through the barriers of my self-imposed limitations and starting writing fiction. The biggest limitation was my belief that I’m too logical and unimaginative to write fiction. Thanks to NaNoWriMo and signing up every year in a stubborn and seemingly pointless refusal to give up reaching the goal, I finally wrote a novel. That was in 2009, when the floodgates opened. So, 2010 has been the year of writing. I gave up keeping count, but I know I’ve written somewhere between 100,000 and a quarter of a million words.

There’s no guarantee, of course, that any of those words are worth reading, but 2010 has also been a year for learning, so I can safely say that my writing has been improving steadily. So 2011 will be my year for publishing. I may not be the best writer in the world, but I’m confident that I’m a decent enough writer to offer my work to the reading public.

Another limitation I overcame isn’t entirely self-imposed. ADD has always made it difficult for me to stay organized and focused. As a result, I’ve never managed to complete any long-term writing projects. I finally decided that even if ADD was the cause, I was tired of using it as an excuse, and found ways to get around it. Having written two complete novels and another about to be finished is an amazing accomplishment, even if it did take me most of my life to figure out a way to achieve it.

As for this blog, my idea cup runneth over. My idea cup has always runneth over, thank goodness, because I see people wailing that they just don’t know what to write about, and I wonder why. My problem is picking and choosing, not finding. My readers will have plenty to read and think about in 2011, and when November rolls around, the official beginning of my personal year, I’ll try to make NaNoWriMo interesting, even to those who aren’t addicted to it.

One thought on “Scattershot Finish to the Year

  1. congrats on a personal successful year! It’s all about the learning process. Sounds like you have the right idea. Here’s hoping 2011brings you everything you’re looking for.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

