NaNoWriMo 2011 – Privileged Lives

Right now, National Novel Writing Month seems a long way away. I know from experience that I’m going to wake up one day and realize that it’s almost on top of me, and whatever prep work still remains to be done on the next novel had better be done in a hurry. If I look back a month, I can see that this year’s story idea has come a long way. If I look forward to the writing of an actual novel, I know that it has a very long way to go.

Unless something gets in the way, like not being able to figure out how to move the story through several dramatic arcs to an inevitable but not necessarily predictable conclusion, I’m locked in. Science fiction, of course. Forms of defacto slavery, of course. The time is well into the latter half of this century. The world hasn’t ended with a bang, but the old world has been dying with a prolonged whimper.  The government is openly military/corporate. The unstoppable progress of climate change has finally brought the powers that be to their senses, even if it’s only to protect their steadily dwindling profits.

The guiding principles of this government are reclamation of land and resources, and population control. The guiding maxim is “By whatever means necessary.” Onto this stage step our protagonists: a high school student drafted for an elite government school and a small-town teacher drafted for labor, and then trained for personal service. The circumstances of their relationship will change both of them, and I have glimpses of that already. How or whether they will change their world in any way is still hidden.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011 – Privileged Lives

    1. Pay attention to that burst or, before you know it, November will be right on top of you. I’m ahead, in a sense, but with major problems yet to be solved, another seven months might be just barely enough.

      1. I have stories enough. It’s just a matter of figuring out which way to go. “Just” may not be the right word … XD Seven months seem likes a long time, but I know it’s not.

  1. I’ve been through that “which way to go.” I had two strong possibilities last year and it took quite a while to decide which story to go with. I’m glad I made the choice I did because I still haven’t made any progress on the one I rejected for NaNo. I skip from one story to another throughout the year, adding little bits, and if I haven’t worked on one at all, there’s a good chance it isn’t viable.

Leave a Reply

