The NaNo Model, Weird Marketing…

The NaNo pressure model

A bit more on yesterday’s topic, keeping the pressure on myself by devoting a full month to a project: the NaNo model. I went through my WIPs, laying out the ones that I really want to work with and complete over the next year or so. It turns out that there are ten that I’m serious about. One is nothing but notes, so far, and one is currently in serialization on my LJ blog. The others range from 3,400 words to 81,000. I arranged them in the order that I’d like to get them finished and published, but it isn’t set in stone. What I devote any month to will depend on a lot of factors, including whether I want to edit or write. I suspect that editing and writing will alternate so that I don’t get burned out with either one.

Subscription marketing

I thought of a variation on the subscription sites that some authors run. I don’t know if anyone has done this, but it’s an interesting idea and original to me. Most online writers give their work away. I’ve been doing that, and will probably continue. But some charge a monthly fee for readers to access new chapters of a novel or other work. I don’t imagine that’s possible until you’ve already built up a readership, but when it works, it must be a lot easier than publishing, either in ebook or print format. I wonder if a subscription service would be more popular if  the book was also published, and subscribers were entitled to a free copy. I’m not sure I’d ever want to try a subscription service, but it’s something to think about.

Taryn – Chapter three

The third chapter of Taryn is up on Live Journal — here

5 thoughts on “The NaNo Model, Weird Marketing…

  1. I’ve been following the development of self-publishing for a couple of years, but didn’t make the decision until I actually had a novel I wanted to publish, and several more in the works. Probably more than a year ago. The why: I’m too old (and too impatient) to spend the last few years of my life trying to find an agent, then a publisher, then waiting for publication, etc. I want to control the disposition of my books — keeping them available, setting the prices, etc. And I’m not interested in seeing most of the profits of my hard work go to other people for doing what I can do for myself.

  2. And it’s *only* ten because I realized what I was doing to myself and refused to take any of the others further than notes. Otherwise, I’d have close to 20 WIPs going and would really be driving myself crazy. I may never get around to all those possible stories, and some may not be interesting enough to deserve development, but at least I’ll never lack for future projects.

    1. I can relate to that. I have three or four novels/novel series going on right now, but a lot more on the back burner. I’m not counting short fiction. There’s a lot of that.
      Anyway it’s great never to run out of ideas!

Leave a Reply

