Mental Vacation

I haven’t written anything for over a week now. No blog posts. No working on the sequel to Boundaries. No editing. Not doing much of anything, really. I’m not sure whether it’s the frustrations over getting Hidden Boundaries published, or just part of the up/down cycle that seems to control my life.

So I’ve been reading. A lot. And a lot of it is just time-killing. Nothing to inspire, certainly nothing that stays in the memory. A fair amount of fanfic, some of it from TV series that I’ve never seen or aren’t too familiar with. As long as the writing is good, the plot is interesting, the characters are well developed, and the story doesn’t depend on the reader’s knowledge of the series. There’s some damned good stuff on the web.

9 thoughts on “Mental Vacation

  1. I think sometimes taking a break from writing is essential to retaining one’s sanity. In truth, there is nothing better for a writer to do when taking a break then reading. I’m not sure that every book read must be in the vain of classic literature or the beatnik generation. Sometimes curling up in the fluff and relaxing is more beneficial than attempting to push through Finnegans Wake. This is especially true if you’ve just finished a novel and are working to get it published. Take it easy. You deserve it.

  2. Thanks for that little booster. It still bugs me to be offline, so to speak. I know I’ll get back to the writing soon, but there’s always that nagging little worry that I’ve burned out completely. And I probably couldn’t even hack my way through Dubliners right now, much less Finnegan’s Wake.

  3. I have to admit that I’ve put my creative writing to the side, too. Summertime is my least productive period, although this is expected, it causes me to fret.

    Then there’s always reading. I’ve got 4 pages of titles on my kindle now. Oh, yeah, that reminds me. I’ve got to go look you up. Going there now.

  4. Four pages? List view? The desktop app allows cover view, and I have a little less than a page. But some are samples. Of course, I have a whole folder of books in PDF format that I haven’t gotten around to yet. And a stack of print book that I’ll get around to some day.

    What’s that about looking me up?

    Oops. Glad I can edit my own comments. I write year-round. I can’t stand much heat, so I’m pretty much stuck in my apartment with the AC when summer rolls around.

  5. Hey, can you send me that link again? Terribly sorry that I didn’t keep it, I thought it’d be easy to look you up by last name, but this is not so.

    1. Yeah, that’s the one. But I see you haven’t published yet. In May of what year??? 🙂

      Don’t worry, my friend. Ever since the heat arrived, I haven’t written much either. Although, it has rained for the past two days, and I squeeked out an outline for a sizzling ending to my current project, the first ending did not quite measure up to LOGIC–if you know what I mean?

      I can’t stand to read or write something that isn’t logical. Like all those horror movies where people do the dumbest things…DUH… or where things are never explained.

      I see that you’ve written several reviews on Smashwords. So I can check them out. Thanks for culling the herd. Oops, that was impolite. I’m such a bohemian.

      1. Man, I’m falling behind. Didn’t mean to leave your comment hanging. Yeah, the hot weather doesn’t help at all. In fact, summer is my least favorite time of year. And logic? Absolutely. I don’t care how well something is written (even if it’s my own), if it doesn’t hold together logically, then it just doesn’t work.

  6. Well, you have written this blog post now, at least!

    I find that when I am just idly reading, messing about on the internet I absorb things that later mutate into stories or ideas of my own. Characters and situations can come into being even through browsing other people’s problems or flame wars in various communities. Just because it doesn’t feel like you’re working, doesn’t mean the creative process isn’t continuing behind the scenes – that’s what I tell myself anyway.

    Besides, it is good to take a break now and then.

Leave a Reply

