Getting Back to Writing

There are times when I’m brain-dead. That’s the only way to put it. I’ve been reading for the last few weeks, often as much as 12 to 15 hours a day. Normally, I read much less, and the reading usually makes me think about my own writing. What’s been going on recently has simply been time-killing. Not that some of the reading hasn’t been worthwhile, but a lot of it has been junk or rereads that really weren’t necessary, or even that interesting.

I haven’t blogged. I haven’t posted chapters of Taryn, either to LJ or AFF. I haven’t written new chapters, edited previous ones, thought about revising The Warden, which should be my next project, or, worst of all, haven’t followed through with getting Hidden Boundaries up on Smashwords. My black holes are very deep.

But I’m beginning to climb back. At least I’ll take a look at chapter ten of Taryn and see if I can finish it. And I really do want to work on The Warden. I’d already pared the first chapter down by several thousand words, but it still needs more pruning. That chapter was a good example of how you can get carried away in the details of what’s happening to a character and then realize, much later, that the character isn’t even that important to the novel. It did establish the context for the rest of the novel, and I decided that the character will be more fully developed and become more important to the main character. But even at its current 2,600 words, the chapter is too long. Chop. Chop.

I’ve had a few thoughts about the upcoming NaNo novel but, like everything else, it sank into the black hole. At least I’ve been collecting a lot of source material for it. Not that any of it will show up in the novel. But current events are a frightening glimpse of a future controlled by military/corporate alliances in a world devastated by climate change. All I have to do is project the present, as it’s developing, into a near-future world, and I won’t have to worry about authenticity.

4 thoughts on “Getting Back to Writing

  1. Are you doing Camp NaNoWriMo. I’ve kind of been in a slump like you too. But reading should help down the line when it comes time to jump back into writing and revising.

  2. It took forever just to figure out what Camp NaNo is, but no, I’m not doing it. I was planning to set thirty day goals for myself, but the black hole swamped everything. I have enough projects to work on that it doesn’t make sense to add another one. I get the impression you’re sort of supposed to write another novel, but maybe I’m wrong.

    Anyway, today is the day. I seem to be pulling out of the hole. I’ve spent most of the day working on The Warden, last year’s novel. This one’s really close to my heart, but there were a lot of unsolved problems to work out. I have a better grip on it now, so I’ll see how long I can stick with the current round of revisions.

  3. I think writer’s blocks or slumps or black holes are neigh impossible to avoid. We can do our best, but once in a while something just … happens. Or doesn’t happen, depending on your point of view. Even so, sometimes I find that I emerge with newfound motivation or ideas even though I didn’t think I was getting it/them at the time. Maybe that’s the case for you too?
    Anyway – glad to know that you’re getting back on the proverbial horse! 🙂

  4. The horse is still trying to buck me off, but I have a pretty good grip on the reins, for now. I’m still having trouble with the book that’s in progress, but the revision of last year’s NaNo novel has taken off. I’ve tried to get back to it several times, and I guess the time just wasn’t right. A lot of the problems worked themselves out in my head during the dry spell, so now I have a better overall vision of what needs to be done. And that feels damn good.

Leave a Reply

