89 Days

National Novel Writing Month is just ahead. After spending the last four months or so, working on this year’s novel, three months is beginning to look like barely enough time to get my ducks in a row. There’s still too much that I don’t know about my characters. I’m not sure how much of the environmental and social changes I’m going to work into the novel. And, as usual, I have no idea how it will end. But it’s a damned good story, and solidly science fiction.

I’m starting to scour through my notes and move things around into what might eventually look like chapters. I’ve noted tons of questions to be answered, and with any luck, I’ll be able to answer them either before NaNoWriMo starts, or as it progresses. One thing I’m going to do differently is pay more attention to what I’ll be writing the next day. There were too many days last year, when I finished the day’s quota and tried to put NaNo completely out of my mind. So the next day I stumbled around, trying to figure out what was supposed to come next. Rule #1. My NaNo day isn’t over when I enter the word count.

And there’s all the other stuff. Crossing Boundaries will take part of my attention this month. Then on to Ancien: Gift of Blood. Finish it, and get the editing and revisions far enough along by November that I can go back to it in December and publish it. That is a big goal, and if I don’t achieve it by the end of the year, I’m not going to kick myself around. It’s been waiting since 2009; another month or two isn’t going to make that much difference.

3 thoughts on “89 Days

  1. Rule number one rocks and is great advice for anyone. Not that I’ve participated in NaNo, but I liken it to a month-long all nighter in uni and I’ve had plenty of those. Don’t forget you’ve got a writing buddy here if you need a helpful push!

  2. In a way, it *is* like a series of all nighters. But one thing that advance planning does is let me start off like a house on fire. If I can write seven or 8,000 words the first three days, I can take some time off every now and then. It’s always a crazy month, with days off alternating with frantic pushing until I’m ready to drop.

  3. I second Kate McCausland. Rule # one is a good one. It feels to me like our stories are, or should be (especially when NaNoing), always there with us. Last year I tried to make a habit out of ending my writing days somewhere when I knew exactly what would come next as often as possible.

Leave a Reply

