Nudging Pubit — odds and ends

After a week of seeing Ancien: Ages of Blood still in “processing,” I took the advice of someone on the Pubit forum and sent an email to Support. Just as the poster said, it worked. No reply, but when I checked three hours later, the story was finally for sale. What goes on during “processing,” and why can’t Barnes & Noble be as efficient as Smashwords about getting books out where potential buyers can find them? Tis a puzzlement. [Pissed off note]: I made a very small change in the book description just now. Result? It will take another 24-72 hours for the change to show up. With the possibility that I’ll have to nudge again. Another point for Smashwords.

By the way, the change was to add the approximate word count. Apparently, a lot of ebook buyers don’t have a clue about “kb,” which stands in for number of pages. Word count will help keep people from paying for one thing (a short story) and thinking they’re getting another (a novel).

On the desperate measures front, I’m writing down every single problem I’m having with the end of Crossing Boundaries, and working my way through them. Not another word goes into this chapter until all the ducks are in a row. It’s a lot of ducks.

I just signed up for a social networking site called She Writes. I’ve seen it mentioned several times by various writers, so I’ll give it a try. I’m being very priority-oriented about social networking/promotion since I don’t have the time or patience for much. I’ve dropped almost as many sites as I’ve joined, some because they’re thoroughly obnoxious, like Facebook, others because they have too little traffic or too few ways for members to interact. Right now, my blogs and my Goodreads membership are where I’m happiest.

Author Nathan Bransford has a new blog post worth looking at: Which Social Networks Do You Use? His answer, and the answers of some of the commenters, are scary. Where in the world do they find the time?

4 thoughts on “Nudging Pubit — odds and ends

  1. I’m blowing up your comments today. Is it obvious that I backlog?

    Anywho. How do you like “She Writes”? Thanks for the link too. I’m interested to see the comments section.

  2. Kate, I do the same thing once in a while, mostly with bloggers that I’ve just subscribed to. I’ll go through a lot of backposts in one big session.

    So far, I don’t think much of She Writes. They claim 16,000 members, but there’s very little activity. I joined a couple of groups, and check out the main forum each day, but nothing much is happening. I’ll give it a bit more time, but I have other paths to pursue also.

  3. That makes me feel a bit better. I realize that we’re all busy with writing and jobs and whatnot, but I get the sense that some people are just better at keeping up with daily posts from other bloggers. I end up feeling terrible if it’s been longer than two days since I’ve commented or “Liked” a post.

    Unfortunately I always end up finding that many of the “female/women writers groups” are inactive and rather unhelpful. I like the idea of it, but I’ve wondered if they are able to offer more of a sense of community than the writing community as a whole. Hopefully, you’ll be able to find another social network that works for you.

  4. I don’t know why women’s groups don’t seem to do that well. Maybe I’ve just been looking at the wrong ones. I tried another one some months ago, and found that it was heavily biased in favor of print publishing and promoting the professional writers who were members. I keep hearing good things about Google+ for writers, but they’re still not accepting new members. A friend even sent me an invitation and I never received it, so I guess invites are cut off again.

Leave a Reply

