Smashwords and NaNo – Not What I’d Planned

Add another WIP to the pile. I started a post (I thought) about using Smashwords to its best advantage. That was weeks ago, and even though I’ve added a few bits here and there, the post has been sitting on my desktop doing nothing. Until this morning. A flash of inspiration! Or madness. Your choice.

I intended the post to be something different, not just the usual limp “Here’s how to use Smashwords.” It would be based partly on what I’ve read about other people’s experience with Smashwords, but mostly what I’ve learned about how not to do it, from hours of browsing through the site itself, looking at descriptions, book covers, and samples. But I also have a ton of bookmarks for useful resources.

So, bye-bye blog post. Hello, ebook. I don’t know how long it will be, or how long it will take to get it written (it’s not at the top of the must-do list), but it will be as thorough as I can make it.

And then there’s the book I intended to write, short but to the point, about National Novel Writing Month. It may happen, but not this year. For one thing, a book about NaNo has to be launched when interest is starting to rise, but well before November. And having just read NaNo for the New and the Insane by Lazette Gifford, I’ll have to think seriously about whether I can even add anything valuable to what she’s already covered.

The book is short, snappy, and worth much more than you’ll have to pay for it, which is nothing, zero, zilch. Learn why NaNo might be exactly right for you — or why it may not. Honest insights from a published writer who’s been part of NaNo for a good many years. If you don’t give a flip about NaNo, the book is still worth reading, because it’s a concise manual on writing. For me, Zette’s section on her phase outline method of writing filled a huge gap in my novel pre-planning. Go get it.

2 thoughts on “Smashwords and NaNo – Not What I’d Planned

  1. You know, I find it inspiring to hear about your projects. You have so many interesting and often helpful ideas and seem to have a lot of commitment. 🙂
    And thanks for mentioning that NaNoWriMo book. I just may have a look at it. 🙂

    1. Thanks. Knowing that my posts are helpful is a nice start to the morning. And do take a look at NaNo for… Zette could charge a couple of bucks for it and it would still be a bargain.

Leave a Reply

