Riding off in All Directions — Again

How do you set priorities when everything feels equally important? Third draft of The Warden. Prepping for NaNo. Finishing the story I’m serializing on Live Journal. Blogging.

I got bogged down in chapter seven of The Warden, knowing exactly what was wrong with it, but not being able to pin down how to fix it. So, after doing seven chapters in three days, this one took two days. I have 17 days to revise 21 chapters if I’m going to get this draft done before November 1. It’s entirely possible, but at the moment, it doesn’t look probable.

There are only one or two more chapter to work out for Privileged Lives. I could go into NaNo without having pinned them down, but I’d rather not. It’s a big mental jump from straight writing all day to figuring out the last bits of the plot and I’m not sure I’ll have the energy once NaNo is under way.

Something Inside the Silence is turning into one of those projects I hate. I don’t like leaving readers hanging, so I usually don’t start posting until a story is finished or nearly finished. But that’s what I’m in danger of doing with this slavefic. It was about ten days between the first episode and the second, much too long. It looks as if this last (?) one may take longer. I’ll never do that again.

And then there’s blogging.

3 thoughts on “Riding off in All Directions — Again

  1. I do know the feeling. You can tackle the most difficult task first, or do what you think is most interesting/funny or consider what is more important to you as a writer somehow … I don’t have the answer. I think the most important thing probably is not ending up running in circles and not getting anything done because you can’t make up your mind. 🙂

    1. I think it must be in my nature to run around in circles. My “solution” is usually to skip from one project to another, doing a bit here and a bit there until everything’s finished.

Leave a Reply

