NaNoWriMo – My New Year Starts in Eight Days

I started this blog in September of 2010, as part of the run up to National Novel Writing Month. Hence the URL: writing cycle. The intent was to track what I was doing during NaNo, not by obsessively posting word count, but posting what I was learning–what worked for me and what didn’t work. Part of my original plan was to show the value of NaNo for any writer, but especially for beginners who are nervously trying to find a shallow writing pool to dip their toes in before jumping into the deep ocean of words.

I think I’ve kept to the plan pretty well. I never intended the blog to be only about NaNo and it hasn’t been. Even the most devoted NaNo addict would get pretty bored along about January 1, and I don’t consider myself an addict. NaNo is just one part of my writing year. It’s the focused madness that guarantees one novel a year, no matter whether I keep on writing afterwards, or piss the time away. As it turns out, and as I hoped, November has become the start of a full year of creativity. I’ve learned that it’s easy to write two novels a year, and if I didn’t piss away a lot of time, just because I have so much of it, I could probably write three novels a year. Easily. Plus a few short stories and novellas.

I have, in fact, written two novels since last year’s NaNo, plus a stack of WIPs. This next year will be devoted more to finishing than starting, just because there’s a huge backlog. But I wouldn’t be surprised if another new novel shows up somewhere between January 1 and November 2012.

It all started with NaNo, from learning whether I was a pantser or a planner, to proving to myself that I had what it takes to write long-form fiction. And that’s what NaNo is all about.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – My New Year Starts in Eight Days

  1. The thought of November and NaNoWriMo as the start of the writing year – that’s really appealing. I’ve said it before, but I really do admire your productivity. I try to get in as much writing (and revising and researching) time as possible, but I never manage two novels a year these days. One novel, some revising and a bunch of short fiction, is more like it for me. – Your dedication really inspires me. 🙂

    1. Can I say that I’m amazed that I’d inspire anybody? I’m always kicking myself for my lack of productivity. If it’s true, I’m very grateful. But I have all the time in the world, so I don’t want anybody else kicking themselves because they’re even less productive. But I’ve had two years to get my act in gear, and what once seemed impossible now seems fairly easy. I still have to work my butt off to get a novel to the point where it’s publishable, but except when I hit a temporary burnout, even that work is enjoyable. The only important thing, really, is to do as much as you’re able, and do the very best you can with it.

      1. It is true. 🙂
        When I was younger, I did write more, but I’m trying not to kick myself because that doesn’t seem to help. I work fairly quickly and efficiently in bursts, and then there will be several days when I don’t write or revise anything. I try to appreciate what I do get done instead of lamenting what I don’t and then get inspired by those who are more productive to get more done when I have the time.

Leave a Reply

