It’s All Good

Something’s bound to go wrong pretty soon. It always happens that way. Yesterday was the first day of NaNoWriMo and I finished up with 5002 words. This morning, I got the notice of my first quarterly payment from Smashwords–$44.90.

I don’t expect to match yesterday’s word count again. It was a hard slog at the end, though overall, it was easier than reaching the same count last year. It’s not the words that are a problem, it’s the hands and the mental fatigue. But who knows? Maybe I can do it again.

I don’t have any anxiety over reaching 50,000 words. That’s practically a walk in the park by now. The only reason I’m even paying attention to word count is that I’d like to finish the novel before the end of the month. I expect it to run anywhere from 75,000 to 85,000 words, so there’s a good deal of work ahead of me.

My first money from writing and publishing isn’t awesome, except as validation of my efforts. There’s still money in the account, but it came in after the quarter. It’s a seed that I hope will continue to grow. And that first payment doesn’t even represent the reality. I’ve actually earned close to $80.00, but $20.00 of that paid for two ISBNs. Looking at the common statement that most self-published writers never earn more than $100.00, my first few months of being self-published are very encouraging. Yes, sales have slowed to a trickle, but there are still have promotional things I haven’t done, and there are more books in the pipeline.

So, for the moment, it’s all good.

8 thoughts on “It’s All Good

  1. From where I sit, you’re a writing machine, which puts you in a lucky minority. Plus you have an “in it for the long haul” writing, self-publishing, and promoting attitude. And from your quarterly report, it looks like you’re ahead of the curve for your particular publishing circumstances. Magic 8-Ball says “Outlook good.”

    1. Blessings on that magic 8-ball. I don’t know how I feel about “writing machine.” I see it applied to people who write at a positively frightening rate and I know I’m nowhere in that class. People who write 100,000 words during NaNo. Or two novels in a month. Scary! But the truth is that I’d write a lot more if — I were a faster typist and if I didn’t have to deal with mental fatigue after a few hours of concentration. I take lots of breaks because I reach a point where I can’t focus any more. It’s frustrating, but there it is.

  2. Congrats on both counts! Sounds like things are going well for you. Hope you can keep up your NaNo pace and get your novel completed by the end of the month. Also, sending best wishes your way for continued success in your self-pubbing endeavor.

    Hugs~

  3. Wow, I’m impressed! Self pubbing and NaNo’ing at the same time….what a whirlwind you must be! First day’s word count looks fantastic and I’m wishing you the very best. Looking forward to following your success, on both counts!

    1. LOL. This “whirlwind” spends most of her time sitting on her butt. Luckily, that’s not a handicap for a writer. Good luck to you, on your first NaNo. Hope you get hooked.

  4. Wow, great word count for the first day, Catana! And congrats on the first Smashwords payment. May there be many more to come — for both of us! 😀

Leave a Reply

