Sorry, But the World Doesn’t Revolve Around You

The NaNo novel is going extremely well, but now that I’m nearing the end I’m more inclined to push onward rather than relax. I just wish all days were like today, with 3,500 more words in the pot and an early stopping place.

Even with that good feeling to end the day with, I managed to find something to piss me off. Not in a big way. Just a complaint about a site, where the person wanted a button added to allow him to do something that he could do perfectly well himself if he had any sense. Specifically, he wanted an opt-in button so that when his book went through Smashwords’ meatgrinder without any problems, it wouldn’t publish automatically. Why? Because he finally got around to looking at the book a month later and found all kinds of things he needed to correct. He was upset that people had been buying it that way. No possibility that the readers might be upset, of course.

The simple solution to that extremely difficult problem? Don’t publish unless you have the time to check it out and do the corrections. Two of us made suggestions about that, plus another of his complaints. So he came back still whining about how the site should enable him to do it his way. But at least he gave me one more stab-yourself-in-the-foot example for the Smashwords how-to book that I’m working at when I’m in the mood.

3 thoughts on “Sorry, But the World Doesn’t Revolve Around You

  1. That’s weird. Were these errors that would be immediately visible looking at the manuscript before submitting to Smashwords, or were they formatting errors which would appear after submitting?

    Congratulations on your NaNo! 🙂

    1. He said it was something the auto-vetter caught. Now that I reread it, that doesn’t make sense. I thought the book wouldn’t be published if the auto-vetter found something wrong. But I could be wrong. I don’t think I’ve ever had any auto-vetter problems.

  2. That’s pretty ridiculous. As someone who went through contortions to try and get published on Smashwords, I would never blame them for my errors. The meatgrinder is just a program, a machine; it’s not Smashwords’ fault if I don’t check my work. And you’re right; don’t publish at all unless you have time to devote to it.

Leave a Reply

