NaNo 2011 is Over

Over and done with. I decided the book would be finished today, so I skimped a bit on the ending, but it’s a good solid piece of work that I’ll expand and edit sometime next year. What can I say about it at this point? I’ve written five novels now, three of them for National Novel Writing Month, and my writing has steadily improved. Privileged Lives and Other Lies is my best novel yet. Are the first two published books bad? I don’t think so, but I can see how they could have been better. My very first novel of all, written for NaNoWriMo, is the weakest, but still has great potential. It’s going to be completely reworked and published, and no one will ever know how amateurish it was originally.

I read a lot about how we should just abandon those early efforts, that they’re part of our learning process and not worth struggling with. But what that advice usually doesn’t acknowledge is that even the earliest stories can be brilliant, even if we don’t yet have the skills to develop them properly. There’s no reason why those early efforts can’t be taken out later and turned into something a writer can be proud of.

5 thoughts on “NaNo 2011 is Over

  1. I’m throwing confetti and glitter in my mind. 🙂

    Totally agree with “even the earliest stories can be brilliant.” After all, those were the stories that prodded us to become writers in the first place. There must be *something* to them. 🙂

    1. Thanks for the confetti and glitter. I’m too tired for any tossing.

      There seems to be an assumption that lack of writing skills automatically means lack of ability to think of good stories.

      Hey, you knocked out another couple of thousand words since I looked last time. You’re gonna make it!

      1. Yeah, last week I toned down my word count to spend more “quantity” time with my husband over his Thanksgiving break. Plus I was cooking and baking all week. But there was never any doubt that I would pirouette over the finish line this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

