Winter Solstice

It isn’t just winter, but winter is definitely a factor. When the darkness inside is matched by the darkness outside, it’s harder to break out into the light again. The longer I stay in my cave, the easier it is to consider not coming out again. This happens two or three times a year, less often now than in the past. It’s unconnected to anything external, but can be deeply affected by the external. Over-extending my energies, and choosing to keep my eyes open to the tragedy that is the stuff of everyday life are part of it.

A few of the events and ongoings that have contributed lately:

Children Being Pepper Sprayed and Shocked with Tasers

My Tortured Journey with Former Guantanamo Detainee David Hicks

Liberties We’ve Lost in the War on Terror – Only Temporarily?

Rape of Iraqi Women by U.S Forces as a Weapon of War

How Credit Collectors have Reinvented the Debtors’ Prison

But these aren’t appropriate subjects for a writing blog, and most people probably don’t want to be bothered by such unpleasantness, especially during the spending orgy that is the Christmas season. After all, everything about American culture is based on allowing people to pretend that war, torture, rape, brutalization of children, loss of freedom, etc., don’t really exist. So I’m starting another blog to put those issues front and center. When it’s set up and has some content, I’ll post the name and URL here.

4 thoughts on “Winter Solstice

  1. I was going to suggest you might have Seasonal Affective Disorder, but then I read the link titles. I often think those who aren’t depressed or angry- at least some of the time- about the injustice and torture in the world are the ones who are mentally ill.

    I hadn’t guessed pepper spray and tasers were being used on children. And now I wonder what the lower age limit is, and how a police officer makes an accurate guess of a child’s age. Old enough to be swearing and defying a dress code equals old enough to get tased and pepper sprayed?

    I’m glad you’re calling attention to these abuses. Many people chose to ignore them. As long as they get their Xboxes and $2 waffle makers they’re happy with their blinders on.

    Meanwhile, Faux news is criticizing the White House’s official holiday greetings card. They say it isn’t Christmas-y or Christian enough. I got the card- it’s an interior fireplace scene with evergreen branches, a poinsettia, wrapped presents, and Bo the dog. YEAH- if it weren’t for the red ribbon and the month in which it was delivered, I would’ve guessed it was a Zoroastrian Summer Solstice card. In comparison, previous administrations’ holiday greeting cards featured a snow-covered White House. Faux’s card (I saw it online) features cartoon Faux news reindeer leaving their competition behind. All warm-hearted and full of Christian Christmas spirit, their viewers concur. And this “war on Christmas” (non)issue is what people actually care about.

    Thanks for letting me rant.

    I hope you have a happy new year. 🙂

  2. The best thing about the upcoming new year is that it leaves a very bad year behind. Unfortunately, next year will probably look very much like this year, only worse. But thanks, and I hope yours is a good one.

    Not SAD — lifelong bouts of drug-resistant depression. You just have to learn to cope. And sometimes that means going into retreat for a while. Too much awareness isn’t always a good thing.

  3. I hope the fact that you’ve posted is a sign that the inner darkness is lifting a little?

    For me the bleak midwinter has simply meant physical withdrawal from the great outdoors and huddling within.

    The times do seem dark, with something newly depressing every time one looks at the news headlines. Here (UK) it is our government insidiously attacking our health service, pensions, rights and protection for the sick and vulnerable. On the other hand the growing resistance, like the Occupy movement is something positive even if it sometimes feels like King Canute trying to turn back the tide. I think the internet is a great boon to wider political discussion, at least for those who have the will and capability to take advantage of it and don’t just stick to Fox or the Daily Mail.

    I’d be an interested reader of your new blog, by the way.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  4. I’m very interested in seeing your new blog. By coincidence I wrote something about the news today also. Weird.

    I seldom leave the house either, except for supplies.

    I’m going to click on the debtor’s prison first.

Leave a Reply

