Various and Sundry Topics of Little or No Consequence

In other words, odds and ends because I’m too unfocused to write a normal blog post.

Privileged Lives just got a review and a five-star rating on Goodreads. Along with the suggestion that the reviewer would like to see a sequel. Fancy that! Yes, there are a lot of questions that could have been answered in the book, but that would have required another whole book. No, I didn’t do that deliberately in order to pave the way for a sequel. They were just side issues to the main plot. But, yes, I’d thought about it even before the review. Maybe for this year’s NaNo?

Being social. I’m not. I rejoined Google+ a couple of weeks ago and have hardly been back. Joined Pinterest a few days ago, with a somewhat skeptical attitude, and find that I really like it. It’s the ultimate in eye candy, a social bookmarking site for graphics. It’s incredibly simple to use, and just the place to make collections of graphics that I find on the web. I think about 98% of what’s there is about clothes and other girly stuff, but that’s easy enough to block out. I’ve read that it’s a recipe-hunters’ paradise, and I’m definitely not going there. I was dubious about whether my rather weird interests would attract any attention, but a few of my pins have been liked or repinned already. If you want to take a look at how I’m using it, go to my boards. You click on each graphic to enlarge and see whatever text it contains, then click for further enlargement. Warning: this site is addictive.

Within the Silence creeps closer to the finish line, even though the finish line keeps backing away and saying, “No, not yet.”

8 thoughts on “Various and Sundry Topics of Little or No Consequence

  1. Congrats on the 5 out of 5 review from Goodreads, that’s great.
    Re G+, the experts assure me it’s the coming thing, but for some reason, I just can’t get my head around it – i go there every so often and stare at it. Not a very productive way to spend time.

    1. That tickled me. That’s about all I’m doing with G+ so far. It’s like Facebook in that it’s most useful if you already know a lot of people. If you have to go hunting, it can be just another chore.

  2. Yes, congratulations on the rating and review! I’m behind on reading the blog version but I will settle myself down at an opportune time for a big catch-up.
    I’m also a little bemused by G+. Lots of people have added me to their circles, but there’s very little interaction. It feels mostly somewhat random and impersonal.
    I’ll have a look at this Pinterest. I saw the symbol for it around and wondered what it was.

    1. The nicest thing about Pinterest is that there’s no pressure. No friending, no real contact other than following people who post the kind of graphics you like to see, or just following some of their boards, selectively. Liking and repinning are most common. You can also comment if you want.

Leave a Reply

