Boring Odds and Ends

Within the Silence is finally finished. Now to editing and some tweaking. Originally intended to be about 4,000 words, it took the bit in its teeth and wound up at 15,500 words. Now I can resume posting it to Live Journal, which hasn’t happened since October.

I’m thinking about buying a copy of Pages for my Mac. I use Scrivener for writing, but Pages seems to offer a lot of features that would be handy for developing a website, which I intend to do one of these days.

Now that Silence is largely out of the way, I’m going to take a short break from fiction and try to ram through a first draft of the book on using Smashwords. I already have a rough outline, an introduction, and lots of notes. The only problem is that I’ve become allergic to writing lengthy nonfiction–lengthy being anything that can’t be reduced to a blog post or essay. Goal? Get this sucker whipped into first draft shape by the end of the month.

Self-promotion? Me? Horrors. I’m actually considering posting a discount coupon for Privileged Lives on Twitter. Since I have all of eleven followers that isn’t going to shake the world unless I can think of some relevant hashtags. Any suggestions?

And don’t forget that you can still use the discount coupon for Privileged Lives until March 3. http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/129237  DM23K

4 thoughts on “Boring Odds and Ends

  1. I’m no longer on Twitter, but I seem to remember users would hijack popular hashtags. They would look up the trending topics and simply attach the corresponding hashtags to their tweets. Not sure how effective it was though. And I’m sure you’re above that anyway.

    I also remember writers with a large following would start specific hashtag trends. The followers would join in and use the specific hashtags to keep in the loop. You may be able to reach some people that way, as long a you don’t spam, but instead rely on the followers being interested enough to click through to your website, etc.

    Aside from that, for little-known names trying to promote themselves, I believe Twitter is basically a pyramid scheme in social media garb. Unless you’re already well known, it’s only useful for absorbing info, not so much for dispensing info. Of course there are exceptions. It’s these exceptions that keep the game going. IMO

    1. Wow! Learn something new every day. Hijack popular hashtags. That could backfire pretty quickly if it pissed off enough people. What you said about absorbing info makes sense, and it’s the way I use Twitter. I don’t work for a following, and I’ll probably never have much of one.

  2. Twitter’s only as good as the people you’re following, they’re the ones passing on information to you. I use it to get up-to-date info on the publishing industry and to exchange informative links with people. I follow people who know a deal about ebook publishing, such as digireado and Whizzbuzz, and small presses.
    I know nothing about hashtags and generally only use twitter to advertise my once-weekly blogs and to help promote the books of writers I know by retweeting their tweets (Never underestimate this.) Catana, I wouldn’t be put off by having a small number of followers. I started off about 4 months ago with none, and now have around 50, I’m not chasing a big list.
    Twitter’s important in that you can retweet other people’s content from various platforms on the web. This increases your Kred, which is supposed to be THE best indicator of influence – better than Peer Index and/or Klout. Do tweet, Catana, I’d be happy to floow you and retweet your content.
    @de_valera

    1. I don’t underestimate the power of Twitter. My problem is that it just adds to the burden of social networking and takes up time that I need for writing and editing. With Twitter, as with other forms of networking, I fit it in where I can and build it up slowly.

Leave a Reply

