Never Stand Still

I’m not sure whether I’m just in one of my ADD floaty periods or really clicking with projects that make sense. I often find that things have been cooking on a back burner of my brain and suddenly appear like Venus rising from the waves. But the thing is . . . I get bored very easily. Is that another word for burned out? Maybe. I’ve been thinking a lot about the writing, publishing cycle. I didn’t even know I had one, but it seems to have been developing in a natural way without my having to be aware of it.

I figured out that if I don’t succumb to sloth too often, I should be able to publish seven or eight individual works each year. One month is always taken up with NaNoWriMo, so that gives me eleven months to work my ass off. I know what inevitably happens when I get over-ambitious, so let’s say two novels a year, plus whatever else strikes my fancy and can be finished in less than novel-time. That would be novellas and short stories. According to the original plan.

But I’ve also been thinking about working old blog posts and some past articles into a series of small ebooks about writing. And just today, for the very first time, Amazon managed to sell me a book by sticking it in front of my face and saying “See? Only $.99. We’ve been reading your mind and this is just what you were looking for, isn’t it?” And lo, it was.

How to Publish and Sell Your Article on the Kindle: 12 Beginner Tips for Short Documents, by Kate Harper, fed right into my random ruminations. It’s short, to the point, and had information that even I, with my accumulation of publishing knowledge, found very useful. It would have been worth two or three times the price.

An earlier book I succumbed to, when I started seriously thinking about putting up a website just for my books, and also well worth the modest price, is How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks All for Free by Jason Matthews, discusses how to set up a website, the tools to use to sell your books from your own site, among about  1,000 useful bits of information. That link is for Smashwords. Or you can buy it on Amazon, either Kindle or paperback. The book is full of resources for every aspect of self-publishing.

The two books together are helping clarify what I want to do and how to get it done. Knowing me, very slowly. Get organized first. Don’t ride off in all directions at once. It doesn’t have to be done overnight. So the original yearly plan now includes nonfiction. Never Stand Still.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Never Stand Still

      1. You’re riding off in all directions, too?

        The difference is a little over $1.00. I bought it from Smashwords because when Amazon discounts a book, the author makes less. I also prefer to support Smashwords when I can.

  1. Thanks for the info, Catana. The concept of 2 novels a year amazes me, I’m flat out turning one out every 5 years – and I’m not working full time at any job. Guess I’m just a slow coach, but I love grovelling around in them, rolling in them like a pig in mud, falling in love with the characters and trying to do my very best for them. I could do one a year comfortably if I wrote genre novels – I found that out when I wrote one once with someone, just for the money – but not the ones I write. Still, I do enjoy the process. I’m an 8-draft writer, can’t do it under 8.
    Horses for courses, as I said once before.

    1. Eight drafts — ouch! I’m so burned out by the fourth one that I can’t even imagine doing four more. But I also do a lot of editing as I write, even during NaNo, under pressure, and i usually do so much preplanning that four works out pretty well. There was a time when I would have considered one novel a year my limit, but the more I write, the easier it gets. Practice never makes perfect when it comes to writing, but it does speed things up. Still, I’m in awe of the people who can turn out three or four a year. I’ll never do that because I think it would mean finding a formula and sticking to it.

  2. It was under the influence of NaNoWriMo that I actually wrote Headless. Although I started a month late, it was written in a tight month span although I have spent much time on revision since. The art of writing is the art of rewriting, as they say.

    1. I’m not sure I’d have the self-discipline to write to that tight a schedule without NaNo to back me up, so you have my admiration for managing that. Have been thoroughly disorganized lately, but Headless is at the top of my desktop notepad. So many books, so little time.

Leave a Reply

