Out of the Cave

Those of you who’ve been around this blog for a while know that I need to disappear every once in a while. New subscribers may wonder why they bothered, only to find the place empty and silent for a week or more. I’ve just been doing my hermit thing. I can’t say I necessarily come back refreshed and ready to roar, but if I ever decide to go on permanent retreat, you’ll hear about it ahead of time.

So, what have I been doing? Mostly surfing and reading, but I did get a lot accomplished, some of it unplanned, so it was a pleasant surprise to get some tasks out of the way.

Dark Boundaries has been sitting neglected, and I’ve kept saying I’d do something about that, so now it’s mostly done. I removed all the chapters of Hidden Boundaries, and also removed the Pages index from the sidebar. Pics for all three books and the short story are now nicely sized in the sidebar, and each one has its very own page under the Publications tab at the top. Each book page has a thumbnail of the cover, links to Smashwords and Amazon, price, and length. Length is given in number of words and KB, plus whether it’s a novel novella, or other length. Description comes next, and then an excerpt of about 1,000 words. Longer samples are on Smashwords, as usual.

Still “Under Construction” and not published yet are two more Pages: Resources and Free Reads. Resources will be information on slavery, trafficking, prisons, and other human rights topics. Free Reads will be exactly that. Stories that are short enough that I don’t think it would be fair to charge anything for them. Some will eventually go up on Smashwords, and maybe even Amazon, but my blog readers will get them first.

And speaking of first — The other major work while I was gone has been on The Darkest Prison, the creepy story I mentioned a while back. It’s up to 5,000 words now, so is probably 2/3 to 3/4 finished. The big surprise was that I decided to drop trying to work with the black hood concept and went for something much simpler. I rooted out a photo from one of my younger son’s million-photo discs and found the inspiration. And I do    mean inspiration because I’m adding material to the story that I might not have thought of otherwise. This will be the first one to go on the Free Reads page. (Click on the cover to see it full size.)

In the last few days, I started using a Scrivener feature that I’d been ignoring: targets. I’ve never bothered with daily word count goals except during NaNoWriMo, but a week or more of dragging my feet and not getting much writing done made me think it might not be a bad idea. I still skiped a day of writing, but having the daily goal does help keep me on track. Whether I go over or under isn’t as important as seeing whether I’m making any progress at all. Today, I’ll probably go well over. I set it for 500 words a day, and it resets itself to zero every day.

I think that covers just about everything.

7 thoughts on “Out of the Cave

  1. Glad to see you’ve been writing! And you have hermit ways like me too…I’m not alone! Woohay!!

    Good luck with the revised website…when I’m not on my phone I’ll take a look 🙂

    1. Oh come on, Rik, that’s not much for a week. I should have finished the danged story by now and been through the first edit, at least. I did forget to mention that I also put up my Amazon author’s page. And read a bunch of books.

      And what’s with you guys? Don’t you have anything better to do on a Saturday than be watching your subscription notices?

  2. I didn’t realise you’d been away, Catana, as I was away at the same time in New Zealand. You mentioned word counts. Most people I know hold up crucifixes when I mention them but I absolutely love them. I love them when I’m doing a 1st draft, I love them when I’m doing the umpteenth draft for a short story for a mag or competition. I like the chopper view they can sometimes give, I just like knowing how much I’ve done. For comps, sometimes it’s critical.
    Tip for anyone trying to squeeze a short story into the upper word count for a comp: get rid of all your ellipses and most of your ands. If you’re putting spaces between the full stops, the computer counts each ellipsis as 3 words.

  3. I think most writers can appreciate the need to be a recluse. It’s good that you’re back as I always look forward to your blog posts.

Leave a Reply

