Odds and Ends

If anyone want to keep tabs on the development of Vorpal Blade Reviews, I’m going to be putting the most recent stuff at the top of the one post. Updates will be dated and, if possible, titled for ease of finding topics that interest you.

A friend pointed me to a talented artist and a pretty damned good thinker — check out Trick Slattery. I might eventually ask him about doing a simpler version of the Tenniel illustration for the vorpal blade of Jabberwocky.

I’m trying to make better and more frequent use of Twitter. It’s damned hard to find people to follow when so many of them tweet constantly about nothing at all, even people I’d think would be somewhat more focused. And my follower numbers go back down just about as fast as they go up. It generally takes only a day or two for people to drop me because I haven’t followed them back. If that’s what self-promotion takes, I’m out of the game. Are you contributing anything of value to your thousands of followers and the thousands you follow? I doubt it. I rarely block anyone, just wait for them to drop by the wayside, but I did block Author Solutions, one of the sleazier of the “we’ll charge you an arm and a leg to do what you could easily do for yourself and probably do better than we will” companies.

The Darkest Prison has been going nowhere fast, but is finally up to 7,000 words. Hope to make more progress today. I’ve been over it again and again, mostly tweaking, but suspect that the strict third person POV and narrative style will make it unpalatable to a lot of readers. Maybe I’ll post a sample here one of these days for some feedback.

 

3 thoughts on “Odds and Ends

  1. I like twitter, Catana. I use it to follow small publishers in Australia (that’s where I am), and writers trying to break through. If I see any writers trying to promote their books, I retweet their tweets. I think there’s a world of potential on twitter for writers to band together and help publicise one another’s works.
    Twitter’s also good for publicising your latest blog post – and/or the blog posts of people you believe can help emerging writers with advice etc. If you give me your twitter address I’ll follow you if I can make my old dial-up connection open twitter for me, I’ve been having a lot of trouble lately, will move to BB in a month or so.

    1. Thanks, Danielle, I’m cs_mcclellan on Twitter. I’m tweeting a bit more often than I used to, at least once every day or two 🙂 instead of once a week or even less frequently. I do enjoy promoting other writers, and need to remember to use of the little retweet buttons on blog posts.

      I hate to remember what it was like on dialup. Took forever to get a decent ISP in this area, but when I went to internet cable, it made all the difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

