New “Gift” excerpt, Website-hosting Debate, etc.

An excerpt from Chapter 9 of Gift of the Ancien is now up. Look under the tab at the top of the page.

Looking Professional — Do you need a website and should you host it yourself?

The two following links feed into discussions about whether authors have to have a website. They don’t refer directly to the question of whether you do or don’t need one, but there are a lot of implications in the second post that lead to “Yes, you must have a website and if you don’t self-host, you’re not being professional.” Needless to say, I don’t agree. As I mentioned in the comment to my last post, I probably wouldn’t even bother to put up a website if I didn’t want to sell my books directly to readers. 1. A WordPress blog is flexible enough to give the same professional impression that you would gain from a website. 2. I’ve seen any number of author sites, some for very well-known writers, that are hosted on either WordPress or Blogger. Apparently those authors don’t worry as much about it as they’re supposed to.

Blogging – should authors go self-hosted or not? Part 1: two bloggers who don’t

Blogging for authors – should you be self-hosted? Part 2: two bloggers who favour self-hosting

Little things that make a writer’s heart leap with joy

This is why I don’t worry about the number of WIPs I have piling up. A science fiction story (probably a long short) has been stalled after a decent beginning of 2,000 words. Internal details to be worked out, and an ending to be discovered. So it’s been sitting on that very large back burner, keeping warm. Every once in a while, it pops to the foreground of my mind and I take a good look at it to see if anything has developed. If not, back it goes.

This morning, it popped out without any warning, with the most troublesome details worked out and the perfect ending. Happy, happy, joy, joy. I made notes and put it away, knowing that when I have time to work on it again, I’ll be writing, not banging my head against the wall, trying to figure it all out.

2 thoughts on “New “Gift” excerpt, Website-hosting Debate, etc.

  1. Catana, there’s nothing like time to sort out writing problems – especially plot ones. Sometimes, overnight is all it takes. Other times, it takes longer.
    I finally managed to download Within the Silence, which involved installing a Kindle on my PC – no mean feat for this Luddite. I’m reading a bit every day when I’ve time.

    1. This story has been stewing for months, so I’m very happy that the major problems worked themselves out. Of course, there will be plenty more when I get to work on it, but it probably won’t be a major wrestling match, the way some stories are.

      I have the KIndle app for the Mac. Don’t own a Kindle and probably never will — or any other reader that doesn’t accept all formats. I’m not crazy about the app because it’s glitchy. And I recently found that books I’m rereading have light underlines with a notation of how many people have highlighted them. It’s almost as bad as a print book with other people’s notations, and there’s no way to shut it off. Needless to say, it pisses me off.

      Hope you enjoy Within.

Leave a Reply

