Ready, Get Set, Go NaNo

I’ve usually made my choice of a NaNoWriMo novel long before this, but there have been so many contenders this year that I was beginning to think I’d never be able to make up my mind. I actually wrote 1,000 words of this story before I called a halt because I suspected it would be my choice. It kept calling to me and I kept pushing it away because it involves a lot of world building, and a much more complex plot that I’ve ever worked with. And action! In fact, it isn’t remotely like anything I’ve written, so it’s going to be an exciting challenge.

Science fiction. Drugs. Kidnapping. Slavery. Conspiracies. Tragedy. Character development?  Nope. Angst? Plenty. There are going to be some pretty ugly scenes, and I’m not sure I even have the stomach to get them down in print. Like The Darkest Prison, this story makes me wonder about myself and where the stuff comes from.

Luckily, I’ve been making notes for the last several months, so I’m not as far behind as such a late choice might seem to imply. I’ll be using the phase outline method again. Speaking of which, I think I have enough material now that I’m ready to start working out a rough outline.

Empire of Masks, coming up. Here’s hoping all you other NaNoers are getting in the mood.

6 thoughts on “Ready, Get Set, Go NaNo

    1. Yup. NaNo planning mostly has to fit in the bits of time when I’m too burned out to be doing any serious work. The pre-planning is fun, so it’s too easy to use it as another way to procrastinate.

    1. If you’re a pantser, October sounds fine. A lot of people don’t start thinking about their novel until the very last minute. But I do wonder how many of them make it through the month. Anyway, glad you’re motivated. Stay that way, for heaven’s sake, and write something amazing.

      1. I’m most definitely a pantser… and your wondering ends here, I’ve never finished :’) although I think that’s more something to do with me personally… thank you very much for the encouragement, I think I need it!

        1. If you want a buddy to give you more immediate encouragement during NaNo, I’m Catana there, too. Honestly, though, if finishing is a problem for you, some preplanning might help. I couldn’t get through NaNo without a whole lot of it. It took me a couple of years to get my act together, but if you’re serious about your writing, it’s worth it to keep trying. Figure out what’s standing in your way, then figure out how to kick it to the side.

Leave a Reply

