Things are Looking Up

I think I can do it. Only 600 words yesterday, but 1,100 so far today. I’m way behind and I’m not going to kill myself catching up, but I can probably pull ahead over the next couple of days. Today’s segment reminded me that I don’t like writing action scenes, having to go into detail about what’s going on, and that’s slowed me down quite a bit. Once I’m past that, I should pick up some speed.

Lesson learned — Don’t try to get any serious writing done while you’re learning to use a trackpad and a keyboard that’s quite different from what you’re used to. As Thomas Cotterill said in a comment, a trackpad doesn’t give you the control you need for writing and making corrections. And why the hell Apple decided to revive the long-dead, and rightly so, chiclet keyboard will probably be a mystery for the ages. The keys are flat, they don’t travel or make any noise, and the keyboard itself is perfectly flat. All of which contribute to making a bad typist (me) an even worse one.

So the shiny new Macbook gets stowed away until NaNo is over, and then I’ll be buying a Bluetooth mouse to supplement the trackpad.

2 thoughts on “Things are Looking Up

  1. Great job! Yesterday I started off slow but today I’ve writing over 1500 words! I am LOVING the @NaNoWordSprints on Twitter, and I’ve also decided to write scenes instead of writing chronologically. I find that as I’m writing scenes, I’m learning more about my MC, her personality, her family, etc. I’m making it up as I go along!

    Good luck!

    1. It can be a kick when you get into it. I finished up with almost 1,900 words today. Still behind at 2,500 for the first two days, but not badly. And as many times as I’ve thought through the first few pages, it came out completely different.

      Sounds as if you’re doing great. keep it up.

Leave a Reply

