Seized by Story

It’s annoying when a story just leaps up and grabs me by the throat. Oh, it’s great, too, because that feeling that a story is ready to be told is like no other. It’s just that it tends to happen on its own mysterious schedule, without any regard for whether I really have the time for it right now. And I don’t. I really don’t. But the story doesn’t care, as long as I attend to its needs.

So, if you look up at the menu bar and dip into WIPs, you’ll find a good solid beginning to a story that’s ignoring what I’d planned for it and has taken off in a completely unexpected direction. Short story. Slavery. Dystopia. Of course.

Dominus. Damn trouble maker!

2 thoughts on “Seized by Story

  1. What is really making all these story ideas jump out at you when you rationally would like to think otherwise? Could this have something to do with where your energy really is?

    Shakti

    1. Shakti, you may be taking my statement more seriously than it’s intended. It’s wonderful when inspiration strikes, even if it isn’t at a convenient time. For me, that’s what being a writer is all about. I don’t look for reasons because my mind is occupied with the substance that goes into my stories and is always working at a subconscious level.

Leave a Reply

