Disturbances in the Writing Force

I’m in transition. I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ve said about all I can say here about writing and indie publishing. A drastic cutting back on reading about those subjects should have alerted me, but it took a while to register. I still have a lot to learn about writing fiction, but I’ve reached the point where I have to do it by experimenting, by seeing what works for me  and what doesn’t, rather than reading other people’s opinions or advice. It’s becoming a very internal process and I’m not sure it would translate well to blog posts or that it’s even possible to explain it. It’s the kind of process that you really can’t evaluate and give words to except in retrospect.

As regular readers know, I’m not big on self-promotion, so keeping a blog for that purpose goes against the grain. I don’t think anyone would be particularly interested in reading it, either. So where do I go from here? Or rather, where does this blog go from here?

I’m doing more nonfiction writing lately, and have decided to use Wizzley as my platform for the same subjects that are part of my fiction — human rights, particularly. Several weeks back, I also started a blog, Dystopia Now, that’s intended to shuttle between links to news articles, commentary, and my own science fictionish approach to climate change, social disruption, etc. I haven’t posted much there yet, and I’m not sure I want to continue. As much as the subject appeals to me, I’m trying to integrate my various interests and bring more focus into my writing. Plus, building up readership for a new blog is a long-haul job that I don’t really have the energy for anymore.

All I can say right now is that this blog will be changing. It will still be about writing, but with much less emphasis on how-to. There will undoubtedly be more discussion of some aspects of science fiction. No rocket ships or aliens, I assure you, since my bent is literary rather than fantastic. I want to look at how SF reflects society’s concerns, and how it can point to various possible futures.

As I write this post, it’s becoming fairly obvious that what I really want to do here is what I originally intended with Dystopia Now. So maybe that’s it, the transition defined by accident.

4 thoughts on “Disturbances in the Writing Force

  1. Great to read your thoughts on writing and on reading about indie publishing. Thanks for stopping by my blog and reading about MY frustrations and fears on learning self-promotion. It’s quite a challenge.

    1. We all go through pretty much the same process, trying to figure out what’s worth doing. I hope those bookmarks do get you some sales, but if not, at least it will make you some friends. Nothing wrong with that.

  2. Catana, what you said concerning the significance of your decline in reading about writing and indie publishing is something I recognize. I’m another one for whom changes in behaviour tend to come first with understanding following sometime after. I think this proves that the unconscious is the primary driver in the psyche with consciousness playing the lesser role of providing awareness.

Leave a Reply

