More Odds and Ends

I keep reading about a fairly new book distribution service (long discussion on Kboard, which used to be KindleBoards). Draft2Digital is inevitably compared with Smashwords, and not to Smashwords’ benefit. Since I’ve grown increasingly unhappy with Smashwords, I’ve taken the first step toward reducing my use to the site itself, closing all the distribution channels. It’s reached the point where the only value Smashwords has for me is the ability to use coupons. It’s been months since I’ve had a sale on any of the distributors’ sites, and sales on SW are just a trickle.

I’m not going to go into the details of why D2D seems to be a good move. A lot of people on Kboards are very happy with it, and there’s an excellent FAQ and plenty of information right on the site. I’ll just say that it pays monthly instead of quarterly, with a $10.00 minimum for digital payments, and you don’t have to jump through a lot of hoops to get a decent ebook published.

Also, after all the back and forthing, I’m working on A Perfect Slave, cutting it down as far as possible. It will still be close to 50,000 words, but at least it won’t go over it. I’m not attempting to make it the final draft; that will come once I have the fat sliced away. I plan to start posting the chapters on Live Journal this week, since that’s always been a valuable source of critiques. It usually helps with sales, too. Ten chapters are done, so only eight or nine to go.

Article writing is on hold for the time being. Editing a novel while battling near-constant headaches is about all I can handle. I hope this headache cycle will end soon, since hay fever season is already here, and summer heat will sooner or later be another battle that I can never win, even with a window AC.

4 thoughts on “More Odds and Ends

  1. I know what you mean about dreading the arrival of summer, Catana. Over here, we are in seventh heaven: Autumn has arrived. The days are clear and beautiful and the nights are cool and great for sleeping. Thanks for the tip about Draft2Digital, will have a look later today – also at Live Journal, which I know nothing about.

    1. I love Autumn and Spring, don’t mind Winter too much except for ice on the ground, and absolutely hate Summer. My body doesn’t regulate adjust to temperature changes very well and can’t cope with much heat.

      I haven’t signed up with D2D yet. I want to get my books off the sites that SW distributes to first. Then I’ll try it out.

      I’ll put up a short post and the link whenever I add to chapter to Live Journal.

    1. Thanks for your concern,Shakti, but I’m used to them. My mother had migraines, and I inherited a tendency toward a less severe variety. They run in cycles.

Leave a Reply

