Three Years to a Final Draft

A Perfect Slave is finished! Finally. And it only took three years, going back and forth about how it should be written, and whether it should be written at all. I don’t know if that’s typical, but it should be encouragement for anyone who despairs because they aren’t able to write a novel in one continuous act of creation. It doesn’t always work out that way, and there’s no rule that it has to.

There’s still proofreading and tweaking, and formatting, but it’s essentially done. I’ll run through it twice (at least) because I’m obsessive, but there won’t be any real changes.

In my down moments, I convinced myself that nobody would want to read a slave’s autobiography, especially one that doesn’t involve lots of abuse and sex, and a romance. But at some point you have to decide that finishing and publishing is worth it to you and just get it out there. Some books sell, others don’t. That’s the chance you take.

But honestly? I’ll be glad to get it out of my hair so I can obsess about something else. Disposable is the most recent WIP and the lowest priority, but I peck away at it most days, even if it’s only a couple of lines or some notes.. I don’t think it will be my next major project because I’m committed to finishing at least one or two earlier ones this year. The Warden, Gift of the Ancien, and A New Serfdom are all waiting. It might come down to eenie, meenie, miney, mo.

6 thoughts on “Three Years to a Final Draft

  1. Congratulations!

    “they aren’t able to write a novel in one continuous act of creation” Me too. πŸ™‚ I’m finding that having several projects going at once enriches all of the projects. I don’t get bogged down in one narrative. Works for me!

    1. Yeah, I used to feel guilty about that. Undisciplined. Not really a writer. Butt has to be in chair every day until that thing is finished. So what are you going to do when you can’t figure out exactly where the story, or the protagonist, is going? Succumb to writer’s block and despair? Solutions often come when I’m not even thinking about the problem, when I’m involved with a different story. It’s as if each project has permeable boundaries, and the act of thinking about plot, characterization, etc. slops over from one to the other and creates stuff that you couldn’t come up with by pounding your head on the desk.

  2. Three years! How fast you write, Catana πŸ™‚ The only novel I ever did or ever will manage to get out there under that was the romance I wrote with Louise Forster. The book I’m putting out in November this year was started in 2001, and I wouldn’t dare tell you how long the others took. Every writer is different, and even with a single writer, the process is different for each book – that’s is, if they’re writing from the heart, and not as if they’re the CEOs of a cookie factory.
    Congrats on its completion, though, and best wishes for its reception.

    1. Okay, you have me beat. Gift of the Ancien was written in 2009, and even thought it’s technically complete, as you know, it has a long way to go before it will be publishable. But I doubt I’ll ever be able to surpass your record. NaNoWriMo has shown me that I can write a novel in 30 days, but who knows how long it will take to be truly finished? Gift, three and a half years, so far. Privileged Lives was published just a few months after NaNo, but I might just as well have put it away for a couple of years because it’s failed to catch on.

      Let me know if you want an early reader for your novel.

Leave a Reply

