One More Stab at G+ and…

I keep thinking that I really should be on at least one major social network if my monthly sales are ever going to be more than some people might spend on a couple of lattes. I’ve tried, but I just can’t hack it. I signed up for G+ again last week, determined to give it a try, and deleted everything within a couple of hours. It’s just too much, too vague in its intent and uses, and seems to me to be nothing more than a slightly cleaned up version of Facebook. So that’s over, thank goodness. Back to work, with mild regrets for the time wasted.

Books have been pouring in faster than I can read them, so I won’t be buying anymore for a while. It’s a good time to go on a buying diet since summer is well and truly here now, and that means a big dent in my budget for the air conditioning that keeps me alive.

Every now and then, on a forum or a blog, someone starts a conversation about how our characters touch our emotions. I admit to getting kind of weepy when characters are well-written enough for me to really feel their plight. But they’re not real people! And I know how easy it is to manipulate people’s empathy, provided they have any heart at all. But then there are the real people I’m reading about and trying to write about, and their plight makes me wonder why the hell I’m wasting my emotions on people who don’t even exist.

Set Me Free is already proving to be much more difficult to write than any fiction I’ve tackled. And not just write, but research. Injustice and the abuse of people who have no way to fight back have always been triggers for me, as far back as I can remember. So there are days when I have to take the work in small doses because I’m too overwhelmed. I’ve been neglecting the fiction lately, but I’m beginning to look at it as an antidote, or a temporary escape from the intensity of reading about the waste of human life that is a result of a barbaric, corrupt, and politically motivated justice system. So maybe The Warden will get finished even though it isn’t a high priority right now.

9 thoughts on “One More Stab at G+ and…

  1. Researching the hard stuff is always hard. I remember many eons ago, doing research for a vivisection scene I had at the time in my Brisbane novel. Even now, 40 years later, I still get the horrors when bits of it rise up suddenly out of nowhere, triggered by something I read, or saw on TV. Working on something else at the same time definitely sounds like the way to go.

  2. I really don’t use G+ to promote myself (if I had anything to promote, that is). I use it to read and share tech info, for the most part. There’s no way I would try Facebook again. And Twitter is just too twittery. 🙂

    I write a lot of horror fiction, hats off to those who can stomach writing non-fiction horror. I get teary at a photo of a neglected kitten.

    1. I hoped that I could use G+ more for conversation than for promotion, but I just don’t have patience anymore for all the hurdles.

      I feel bad for neglected or abused animals, but it’s human suffering that gets to me. Most horror fiction seems to be written just to give people safe chills and thrills.

  3. “Most horror fiction seems to be written just to give people safe chills and thrills.” That’s but one reason I write horror fiction – to allow a safe harbor for myself and others. Also to explore the human condition.

    1. A safe harbor for some, relief from a boring life, sheer voyeurism for others. I guess we can’t really make judgments about why people read (or write) what they do. For, me, if it isn’t about the human condition, it isn’t interesting. Besides, I’m not easily frightened or grossed out, so the horror genre isn’t even entertaining. Once in a while, I come across something exceptional, but it’s rare. Of course, that’s true for all genres. I’m a snob, at heart. 🙂

  4. Interesting. I’m not easily frightened or grossed out either, that’s why my over-active imagination is drawn to writing and reading horror. It’s a starting point for inner exploration.

  5. “their plight makes me wonder why the hell I’m wasting my emotions on people who don’t even exist.”

    Ursula K. Le Guin: “True myth may serve for thousands of years as an inexhaustible source of intellectual speculation, religious joy, ethical inquiry, and artistic renewal. The real mystery is not destroyed by reason. The fake one is. You look at it and it vanishes. You look at the Blond Hero – really look – and he turns into a gerbil. But you look at Apollo, and he looks back at you.”

    Madeleine L’Engle: “When the powers of this world denigrate and deny the value of story, life loses much of its meaning; and for many people in the world today, life has lost its meaning, one reason why every other hospital bed is for someone with a mental, not a physical illness. ”

    J. R. R. Tolkien: “Probably every writer making a secondary world, a fantasy, every sub-creator, wishes in some measure to be a real maker, or hopes that he is drawing on reality: hopes that the peculiar quality of this secondary world (if not all the details) are derived from Reality, or are flowing into it. If he indeed achieves a quality that can fairly be described by the dictionary definition: ‘inner consistency of reality’, it is difficult to conceive how this can be, if the work does not in some way partake of reality. The peculiar quality of the ‘joy’ in successful Fantasy can thus be explained as a sudden glimpse of the underlying reality or truth.”

    G. K. Chesterton: “Fairyland is nothing but the sunny country of common sense.”

Leave a Reply

