So I’m Not a NaNo Rebel After All

Out of curiosity, I just read the “Am I a Rebel?” thread on the NaNo forum. I was kind of enjoying the idea of being a rebel since I’ve pretty much been one all my life in so many areas. But I guess I can live with it. And here is the official statement in case anyone else is wondering.

I’m writing a collection of short stories. Am I a rebel?

Probably not. There’s no actual rule on this one. We define a novel as “a lengthy work of fiction.” However, we the moderators feel that since you find short story collections on the shelves alongside longer works of fiction, if they’re related, they count. They need to have some common theme, or linking thread that weaves them together that makes them a single, “lengthy work of fiction.”

I’ve started a page, NaNoWriMo ’13, which you’ll find at beginning of the top menu. I’ll be adding to it every now and then, up to November first. After that, I’ll switch to blog posts, as I’ve done the last couple of years. No daily reports of page counts, I promise.

Oh! The book’s title? No One Will Remember My Name

Leave a Reply

