Best Sellers – Why Do I Do This?

I rarely read best sellers. They’re almost always in genres that I’m not interested in. I prefer to read books that aren’t sensations of the moment and disappear once everyone has read and discarded them. I like to have a good number of reviews to compare, with enough clues that I can make an intelligent judgment about whether it’s going to be worth my time. So, when I do read a best seller, it’s years after the fact. Doesn’t guarantee anything, naturally.

I recently succumbed to The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo. It sounded interesting. I tossed it before I was finished with the second chapter. Now I’m reading The Passage because I was looking for something different in vampire novels. It comes highly recommended by Stephen King, despite it’s being, at the quarter mark, a very poor attempt at something more or less like The Stand.

It’s one of those books that tosses in everything, including the kitchen sink, apparently in the hope that it will all make sense somewhere along the line. I’ve been able to anticipate almost every plot point because the author broadcasts them so loudly ahead of time. The only suspense so far is character motivation for much of what happens, and why he thought that mixing biological monsters with unexplained supernatural effects, and vampires who don’t seem to have turned up yet, was a good idea.

The main question right now is how much further can I get into this mess before I decide it’s a total waste.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Best Sellers – Why Do I Do This?

  1. Isn’t it discouraging? I can’t remember the last time I read something off the bestseller list. I do admit to liking Stephen King, though probably wouldn’t enjoy a poorly executed knock-off. And the original Swedish movie version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was quite good.

    Hang in there and remember that bestselling does not equal well written!

  2. So happy to hear you didn’t like Dragon Tattoo either; I don’t think I got to the one-quarter mark before tossing it. What a contrast to someone like Peter Hoeg, who hails from similar parts and who write wrote Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow, and The Quiet Girl (which I didn’t understand, but found fascinating, nevertheless.)

Leave a Reply

