NaNo Day One, and Ender’s Game

2,600 words so far, with most of the day and all evening ahead of me. My goal for today is 3,000 words, so I’m taking it very easy, mostly because the story I’m starting with is going so well.

I love forums because they’re so revealing of character. NaNo forums are no exception. There are innumerable threads started by people asking questions that take covered very well in the FAQ and even in some of the forums dedicated to specific topics. The person who never reads the FAQ and expects everyone else to keep them in the loop is a well-known phenomenon. How it takes less effort to formulate the question, throw it out there and wait for answers, which they will then have to read, than just reading the damned FAQ beats me. But so be it.

And then there are the real oddities that just make me scratch my head. The weirdest yet is the person who plaintively wondered why her word count wasn’t showing up on the site, no matter how much she wrote. She apparently assumed that NaNo peeks into your computer, finds your file and sucks the word count right out. And then there are the questions that are so confused that no one can figure out how to answer them. All of which makes NaNo a real trip.

In other news, I’ve been more or less keeping track of the Ender’s Game movie, all the politics swirling around it because of Card’s homophobia and other obnoxious opinions, and the usual arguments about the book and whether a movie can respect its origins. The only movies I see anymore are on DVD, and I’m so deeply steeped in books that months can go by without my watching anything. But Ender’s Game is one of my favorite books, not withstanding that it’s supposed to be an artifact of adolescence. It came out when I was about forty and I probably read it some years later. I appreciated it for many of the same reasons that adolescents do, because some of those reasons never go away.

Reading the discussions and seeing the clips, I decided that this was one book adaptation that I was not going to pollute my mind with. The reviews are starting to come in now, and everything I assumed about the movie is turning out to be correct. All the themes that made the book more than just a coming of age/action story have been dropped. The movie rides on glitter and tech, none of which interest me unless they’re in support of a good story. In this case, they’re a substitute for the story. Nuff said. If what you really cared about was the philosophical, political and ethical strands of the story, you can skip the movie.

12 thoughts on “NaNo Day One, and Ender’s Game

  1. “… assumed that NaNo peeks into your computer, finds your file and sucks the word count right out….”
    o_O
    Tell her she shouldn’t worry, we have the NSA for that!
    But lol, really. That kinda made my day. Hope she got it cleared up, and is ok with laughing at herself!

    I’m glad to hear that Ender’s Game isn’t too worth seeing. I REALLY wanted to see it but……. I just can’t bring myself to. I know it doesn’t make sense to hold an author’s political opinions against a good story. After all, I don’t know the opinions of most of the authors I read. I don’t know for certain that I”m not supporting some crazy bad platforms by buying their books. But when I DO know, I just can’t bring myself to continue. It’s always good to tell myself I’m not missing much.

    1. Okay, thank you for the NSA comment. That made *my* day. Someone suggested that she might be typing her novel into the box that allows you to post an excerpt. It’s kind of amazing that there are always a few who ask where on the site they’re supposed to do their writing. I guess they miss the discussions of word processors and writing apps.

      I generally look at things in the context of long time spans, so brouhas about political correctness and boycotting the bad guys rolls off my back. Ender’s Game is a classic and will still be around when Card is long dead and his right-wing beliefs have been forgotten. I suspect the movie won’t survive that long.

  2. Oh Catana, I’m afraid, being the digitial klutz I am, my sympathies lay with the woman who couldn’t find her word count – but remember, I’m the person who didn’t understand about downloads until 5 weeks ago, even though I’d been writing on computers for 10 years :). It’s hard, I think, when you don’t have aptitude for (is it?) left brain thinking, to have to engage in it in order to reach your (is it?) right brain destination.
    Happy to hear it’s all going well,
    Dani

    1. Dani, there’s a difference between having a hard time understanding a technology, and refusing to even read the most basic instructions for something you’re about to do.

      Today went better than expected. Finished with about 4,400 words rather than push myself too hard. If I could keep that up for ten days, I’d be through by the end of the month. But I know it won’t happen. A few more days of high numbers (high for me, anyway), and I’ll start slowing down to my usual pace of 2,000 words a day.

  3. Re: Ender’s Game. Eldest son and I agree that the original short version of Ender’s Game – before it got attacked by the grownups – was the best (I had it in a collection, I think, and he found it and swallowed it, as was his wont).

    The descriptions of the battles and the strategies were so visual in that version that you could feel it. The movie didn’t do them justice.

    1. I didn’t know it wasn’t a full-length novel originally. Movies rarely do any books justice. At least if the movie is well-done *as a film,* I just consider them two different things and enjoy each for what it is.

      1. Card re-did the book, and then wrote Speaker for the Dead – and got all mystical about it. We lost interest (philistines, I know) because the very quality that made the original (short story? novella?) got killed by the author in a case of conscience (IIRC – this was a very long time ago).

        But I’m fond of Card, with all his little quirks: his book on pov taught me everything I now use about how to tell a story without creating claustrophobia – varying third person from very tight and close to almost cinematic works very well for me in telling a story from the pov of three different characters. It is now a firm foundation of my ‘style.’

        1. I read several of the series, but thought the quality fell off quite a bit. Especially the one about Bean. When I reread it after many years, I was surprised about how poorly written it was.

          I wondered whether his book on writing SF was any good. Is that the one you’re referring to?

          1. No, I don’t know if I have that one.

            It was a Writer’s Digest book (I believe) on Characters and Point of View. Something like that. I believe I may have sent it off to my beta reader when I sent her a bunch of my books on writing because I never used them any more: I’ve absorbed whatever they had to offer.

            1. I’m very slow buying books on writing. I probably have the smallest collection of any writer on trhe face of the earth. I have a couple on my Amzon wish list, but won’t be buying any more for a while. I like to absorb what I already have before jumping into another point of view.

Leave a Reply

