Farewell to NaNoWriMo

I finally made the decision. I’ve had a good run on NaNo. I learned a lot from it, but starting in 2012, it’s become more of a hindrance than a help. With a stack of novels waiting to be finished, and even more short stories, plus two nonfiction projects, taking a month off to write one more while the others get shoved into a corner, NaNo just doesn’t make sense for me anymore. I deleted all my info and closed my account this morning. There’s a tiny tinge of nostalgia, but I don’t really have any regrets.

The story collection will still happen and is 22,000 words toward that goal. Two stories are complete first drafts, and most of the others are well-started. Over the two or three months that I spent developing the ideas, and during the first week of actually writing, I discovered that my concept of the book had evolved, and was turning into something a bit different from the original plan. And it’s still evolving, a process that I had to put on hold in order to write it during one frantic month.

I don’t enjoy the stress, and I no longer need the discipline, or the confidence that writing a novel in a month used to bring. So it’s ‘Thank you, NaNo, but it’s time to say goodbye.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Farewell to NaNoWriMo

  1. Yes, like a lot of writers who write beginnings they only really needed for themselves to get into the novel, and (hopefully) discard later, you’re now at that stage. As you say, you no longer need the discipline. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

