What I Could Have Done in 2013

I could have paid more attention to the year slipping away.

I could have finished and published at least one story or novel.

I could have earned more in 2013 instead of $.40 less than in 2012

But… considering that I didn’t do any of those things, earning almost exactly the same amount as in the previous year is probably more than I deserve, and it tells me something. That maybe a web-wide presence isn’t really necessary if you aren’t aiming to be a career writer and make tons of money. Lots of caveats there, of course. You have to be visible somewhere on the web. For me, it’s mostly this blog. You have to write books that people (at least a few) want to read.

I hope to do better this year. Better at writing. Better at publishing. And maybe a little better at visibility. Maybe I’ll make up that $.40 and even add another  $.40 to the year’s total. No one can say I suffer from too much ambition.

Leave a Reply

