Scary Day

I registered on Twitter a while ago, not because I wanted to, but because a site I want to join requires a Twitter signin. So, within half an hour, the email address I gave Twitter was hacked and deleted. It took forever to find the right place to ask for help, but I got my email account back. [Wipes sweat off forehead.]

To make things worse, my gmail account wouldn’t load and quora.com was frozen and wouldn’t let me do anything. How far did the hack go? Started checking around, changed some passwords. I decided to check gmail again, and it was fine. Checked Quora again and it was fine. What are the chances that two sites would have problems at exactly the same time as I was dealing with a hacker? And considering that I had never had any problem with either of them before? Sheer coincidence, at just the right time to send me into a major panic attack.

I thought it couldn’t happen to me, but the internet is NOT safe, folks. Make sure you have all the information you signed up with on all your sites. It isn’t always  easy to get your accounts back, and almost impossible if you don’t have the right information.

4 thoughts on “Scary Day

  1. I completely understand your panic. In addition to having all information stored somewhere safe, I would strongly advise not allowing websites to ‘save’ passwords for mobile gadgets. I had my laptop stolen and Chrome had saved ALL my passwords. I spent several hours and many days worrying about the security and safety of sites, from social media to more important banking services etc.

    1. Terrifying, isn’t it? Luckily, I don’t have a laptop and even if I did, it isn’t something I’d be carrying around with me. And no mobile phone or any other mobile device. So at least that’s a couple of worries I don’t have.

      But other things can happen to a computer. Now that I’ve had a good scare, I’m going to print everything out and put that in a safe (I hope) place.

      1. It’s very scary when you think about it all. How, in a flash, everything could be lost or gone for good. Better safe than sorry. I’m glad you managed to get back into things, though. Probably a blessing in disguise. I know my burglary was….now I take MUCH more care of my digital stuff.

        1. It’s just a shame that we don’t take things seriously until something does happen. I’m very careful about opening emails, not giving out private information, etc., but there’s always some way for a determined person to get at you. Plus the external risks of everyday life. Live and learn.

Leave a Reply

