Getting Back on Track

The last few weeks have been kind of chaotic, mainly because I’ve been trying to find new ways to earn some money online. So I signed up with four content sites, two of which I have now dropped. Of the other two, I’m actually returning to one. That’s Wizzley, which is extremely well-designed and a very good place to show off writing skills and do a little discreet self-promotion. Unfortunately, it doesn’t pay directly. You have to sign up for affiliates like Amazon or Adsense, so I’ll be using it primarily for exposure.

The other site is Bubblews, a classic content mill, which means that it’s loaded with spammers, plagiarists, and mindless fluff. But if you can get into the swing, it can pay very well. I’ve spent a lot of time there, learning the ropes and writing short pieces, and accumulating money at a rate that’s pretty rare these days for content writers. The hard part has been figuring out how to get the maximum benefit out of it, while spending the least possible amount of time, and that’s pretty much accomplished now.

So it’s now back to the more important parts of my life. That includes blogging. I did manage to keep up with Living and Dying in Prison, and it’s gaining subscribers a little faster than I anticipated. Still very slow by any reasonable measure, but for a topic that isn’t exactly high on anyone’s must-read list, it’s smoking hot. 14 subscribers in six months!

My goal for this year was to get back into publishing, and it’s just as well I didn’t make that a New Year’s resolution. So far, I haven’t done a thing. Back to work or die trying.

I’ve been doing a huge amount of reading, and the outstanding book was The Sparrow, by Mary Doria Russell. It’s moving and memorable, and led me to read the sequel. Children of God isn’t quite as involving, but it’s still a fascinating book. Both books center on religious faith, so you know they have to have real substance for an old atheist like me to enjoy and recommend them.

One ongoing project that’s actually ongoing is a spinoff from the hand slaves novels. I’m working on two short stories from the point of view of two slave in the Alcot household. I’m posting the first draft, as I write it, on Archive of Our Own and on Live Journal. I figure if I get it out in public and people are waiting for the next chapter, I have to finish it. So far, that’s working.

I’m also making notes and jotting down bits of text for a new novel. But that project is way back in the WIPs queue and won’t get serious attention for some time.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Getting Back on Track

  1. I’ve heard good things about Bubblews before as far as making money goes – I might have to have a look at it. By the way, I really like your new covers for Crossing Boundaries and Hidden Boundaries, quite striking and effective.

    1. Glad you like the covers. They’re a huge improvement over the old ones. And if I ever get A Perfect Slave formatted and published, its cover will complement them.

      Bubblews is a hard site to work with sometimes. They have a lot of outages because the traffic is so heavy. They’re also supposedly working on improvements to be rolled out in July, and that gets things whacked up once in a while. If you decide you want to try it out, let me know and I’ll give you some of the inside information to help you maximize your time there and avoid doing anything to violate the very vague rules.

    1. Are you Yonni on Bubblews? I’m CSMcClellan. That’s quite a Zazzle collection. Hope you’re doing well with it. I’ve been thinking about eventually doing something on Zazzle to make some money on Wizzley, but I’m in over my head as it is. Maybe someday I’ll be able to get around to it.

Leave a Reply

