Focus, Damn it!

I’m trying to focus. It isn’t an easy job with so many WIPs pulling at me from all directions, but I’m settled for the moment. I hope. I pulled the longest story out of the prison stories collection to expand it, then publish it separately. I’ll add it back once the rest of the stories are done.

It was finished (I thought) at just under 10,000 words, but every time I go back to it I see how my spare writing works against the drama of a story. I know that I cut corners on emotional reactions and making the settings concrete, but for some reason, it just doesn’t occur to me to put them in right at the start. Maybe that’s something I’m not going to be able to change very much and will always have to work out through several drafts.

At any rate, the story is going well. I’d like to get it up to 12,000 words, but may have to settle for less. This particular story is a challenge to build out because for most of it, there are only two characters, and the others are too peripheral to add anything to it. It takes place in a secretive, top-security prison of the future. Its purpose is to hold violent criminals for the remainder of their lives, in total isolation. My usual bare-bones approach is guaranteed to kill whatever drama is inherent in that kind of situation, so I’m trying to learn not to be a story-killer.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Focus, Damn it!

  1. We all have our writing foibles to content with… some people have the opposite problem, in that they focus so heavily on emotion and setting that the story momentum is obscured. I don’t know if it’s easier to pare back writing that is “too much” or add in when it’s too spare, but either way, I know it can be a challenge. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

