When Revision Feeds on Itself

Preparing for this year’s NaNoWriMo has been an exciting experience, with some unexpected developments. Considering that I’ll be doing almost a total rewrite of a novel, I should have expected that. But hindsight is always clearer than foresight.

One of the major changes in the revamp of Gift of the Ancien is that I decided to end it by resuscitating a discarded novella that was originally meant to be a sequel. By “discarded” I mean trashed — no longer in existence. It might not have been terrible, but it went in a direction I was no longer interested in for my writing. But the idea persisted.

Gift of the Ancien, for those who haven’t read my older posts, is about a subspecies of humans that developed out of a mutating plague bacteria centuries ago. Every so often, a male child will turn out to be a throwback to the earlier form of the mutation, expressing itself in a three-times yearly need for blood. So the story touches on vampirism, but is very different.

What the novella did was take that story a few generations into the future. In getting ready to rewrite it, I realized I needed to ask a lot of questions that I hadn’t dealt with in Gift. You never know when inspiration is going to strike, and it struck late last night. The questions poured out, and the answers began to come. Questions about the throwbacks’ social structure, moral values, and relationship to both humans and the Ancien themselves.

I went to bed with all that spinning around in my head and woke up this morning with the realization that certain aspects of the novel would have to be changed and/or more fully developed in order to foreshadow what becomes, essentially, a new kind of American Ancien, very different from the one that originated in Europe, and that dominates Gift.

Only six days left to whip all the material into shape and bring it to fruition during November. Exciting, yes. And scary.

2 thoughts on “When Revision Feeds on Itself

  1. Great to hear your unconscious is working like crazy on these stories and that soon, you’ll be able to put it all together in the so called ‘real’ world. I understand your feeling of a mix of excitement and fear. In my experience, it’s always been productive, and a good place to be at this point in the novel’s development.

  2. The new scenes I’m trying to develop are coming along, and it’s kind of thrilling to see how different the novel is going to be. At the same time, with only a few days left to begin writing, I’m afraid I’m going to muck it up.

Leave a Reply

