Once More Into the Breach

Or how to tell lies in public. It wasn’t meant to be a lie when I said I was done with NaNo for this year. I didn’t add to my word count for four days, even though I did do a little writing. I really felt that there were no more big chunks of text to be added, just little dribs and drabs that wouldn’t amount to much.

Maybe I just needed to chill for a while, because whatever was blocking my brain let go, and the ideas started flowing again. I really didn’t think it was possible, so today, at 41,600 words and the rest of the evening, plus seven more days ahead of me, it still seems pretty amazing. I think that’s why writers keep plodding along even when nothing seems to be happening. Because, eventually, something does happen, and it’s always an unexpected something. For me, that’s just as thrilling as winning the lottery would be for someone else.

Relevant to this is a question someone asked on the NaNo forum the other day. Whether it’s acceptable to write a story within a story. The simple answer is yes. When I began writing Gift of the Ancien (originally Gift of Blood) it was with the intention of including three or four “interludes,” which were essentially short stories about events that might have taken place before the events of the novel.

When I started planning for NaNo, I decided to place one of those at the end, as an epilogue, and integrate the rest in various ways. One was expanded and became the first chapter. Another became a short story written by one of the characters. The very last thing I would have expected was for another of those internal stories to show up, but that’s what happened.

They aren’t just random stories. They’re all fictional imaginings of what Ancien life might have been like at different times in history. The story that has become the epilogue is about the plague that started it all. Another is about an Ancien family’s tragedy in Renaissance Italy. The new one, which was inspired by a discussion between two of the novel’s characters, takes place in 19th century America, when a few Ancien families wanted to escape the wars of Europe. All these stories are a natural outcome of the novel and expand it in a way that info dumps or backstories could do, but only in a clumsy sort of way.

I still don’t know if there’s enough for me to reach 50,000 words, but what I got out of quitting for those four days makes that almost unimportant.

One thought on “Once More Into the Breach

  1. It’s YOUR book. If you don’t bore your target audience, you can do anything you want with it.

    Your part of the job is to do what you want with it – without having your readers leave you. Easy as pie. Ha!

Leave a Reply

