Hugo Awards, Autism, Website

Has anyone noticed the big to-do about the Hugo science fiction awards? Apparently a more or less far right group calling themselves Sad Puppies have hijacked the awards in order to prevent books and stories that they disapprove of from winning. This is another tempest in a teacup that has caught the attention of too many pundits. How important are the Hugos? Well, if you have $40.00 you, too, can vote. So all that’s necessary to swing the votes is persuade a lot of people to shell out their $40.00, and you can buy the awards.

I’ve never bought an SF novel because it was a winner of any award. And I daresay that’s true for most SF fans. Over time, novels of any genre stand and fall on their merit. Very few readers know or care what awards they won or lost.

. . . . .

I’ve been reading a series of articles and book reviews on Disability in Kidlit. Since April is Autism Awareness Month, the site is devoting the entire month to reviews of juvenile and young adult books about autism, and articles by writers with autism, discussing how literature affects the public’s view of autism, and how books by non-autistics and autistics differ.

It has me thinking more seriously than my usual idle pondering, about my own experiences of growing up on the spectrum, when Asperger’s Syndrome was a brand new diagnosis that very few people had ever heard of. I was in my 60s before I knew there was such a thing as a autism. I spent a couple of years delving into it, mostly because it initially seemed to explain a lot of my lifelong problems, including why the heck I seem somewhat eccentric to many people. The controversies, which still dominate discussion about autism, were interesting, but once I judged that I was on the high end of the spectrum, I went on to other interests.

Reading the series on Disability in Kidlit, I’ve been able to look at autism from a new perspective. I’m not in the least interested in writing “kidlit,” and there’s a definite limit to how much I would want to write about myself, but as an adult with “high functioning autism,” I’m aware of many issues that even the autobiographies I’ve read don’t cover. So, possibly, another writing project. Low priority for now, but since I’m a patchwork writing, I’ll let it build slowly, just like most of my projects.

. . . . .

Speaking of projects, I’ve shut down my “official” website and am transferrring all the material here. The free reads have already made their way over, and there’s a link in the top menu. A website has no value unless it has readers, and trying to attract readers for it is just one more miserable task that I don’t have the time and energy for.

Leave a Reply

