Getting This Show Back on the Road

Inspiration obviously isn’t going to come to my rescue and zap me out of the mental limbo I’ve been in for so long, so I guess I’ll have to do it myself. Maybe it’s something that old age makes worse, but having to make constant adaptations to new situations in the space of a few short months has been a bitch. Having enjoyed 15 years of sitting quietly in my own space, and having developed a life mode that worked for me probably didn’t help either. But I’m settled now (more or less) in an apartment that costs less than my old studio apartment, is close to twice the size, and has a sunroom that is goading me to return to indoor gardening. Maybe my “black” thumb was just the outcome of having only a few windowsills available for plants.

It’s been hard to make any decisions about writing — or do any writing — but I’m beginning to see light at the end of the tunnel. I wiped several projects that didn’t seem worth pursuing, but rescued one (thank goodness for memory stick backups), and may actually work on it during NaNoWriMo. Which is another decision that can’t seem to settle into yes or no. I’ve dropped out of NaNo, sure that it wasn’t worth devoting an entire month to one novel when I already had so many WIPs lying around, then went right back last year. And here I’m probably about to do it again, with a story that has hung around in the back of my mind for several years, but that isn’t economically worth it. Are any of my books, really?

Mainly, though, I need to get back to final edits for a couple of novels, and learning how to format properly for ebooks. Plus, shove out some blog posts that might be interesting to former readers. And I wonder how many of those are even still subscribed? I know I give up on a blogger when several months go by in silence, so we’ll see.

8 thoughts on “Getting This Show Back on the Road

  1. I have had different kinds of writing/inspiration challenges over the last few months. I think all writers run into brick walls of one sort or another. One thing that helped me was an exercise suggested in a writing workshop I attended. I usually resist and bristle at such things, but this one was very simple and its simplicity and the fact that it didn’t focus on outcome really seemed to help.

    So here it is: Write 25 sentences. They don’t have to make sense or be connected in any way, although they may be. I found it immensely freeing to do this daily when I was at my most “stuck” on longer pieces. And I found a few gems that inspired new works emerging from the 25. Hang in there.

  2. Audrey, that sounds like a quick variation on morning pages. It can feel like a completely useless attempt when you first start, but it does often get the juices flowing. I’m thinking that short blog posts might have the same effect. But spare me from any new ideas, please. I’d love to just be able to pare the WIPs down to something that might not feel like a mountain hanging over my head.

    And thanks for still hanging around. I appreciate it.

  3. Great to see you back in the land of whatever-the-heck-it-is. I think you’ve dealt marvellously with being burnt out of your old place and moving in to your new; I suspect I’d be paralysed for a year. I’ve always found working on something that’s already written and just needs more editing is the way back into writing after a break. But everyone’s different, and I’m sure you’ll find the way that’s right for you. It’s just great to see you back, Dani

  4. Thanks, Dani. And you’re probably right about hitting the path back with editing rather than starting something brand new. Although I admit to being kind of eager to start on the story I mentioned. I have lots of notes for it, know the characters fairly well, so it’s an itch that I’ve been scratching for quite a while.

  5. I’ve struggled for the past couple of years but I’ve recently started blogging on writing 101 and it’s opened the door again. Cleared my mind although a lot of the promps are textbook. I wanted to do NaNoWriMo again this year after missing last year as I’ve a great idea(I think) for a novel and NaNo should get me going again. Good luck

  6. Steve, I don’t know why your comment isn’t showing up, even though I approved it. Maybe it will show up later. Anyway, good luck with NaNo. It’s sometimes a good kickstarter.

  7. You garden, too? Eerie. I have one good three-window section of the living room. Facing south. I have plants I’ve had since we moved here (1981). My oldest was born in 1986.

    I could use some help carrying them downstairs to my gardening section of the basement, because half of them need pruning and new soil. Glad you have more sunny windows – and it sounds like a much better apartment.

    How is it going?

    1. Alicia, I was an avid (fanatical) gardener back in the day. I’ll tell you about my new indoor gardening space later. It’s coming along, even though most of what I have right now is decorative stuff from my son’s cuttings and slips — and several huge pots that he hauled in for me to overwinter for him. Planning to raise herbs and as much veggies as possible. Maybe even start a worm farm.

Leave a Reply

