Monday Notes

I’m doing pretty well on editing today after several non-functional days in a row. So, no long post.

I finally found the low-maintenance, high functionality word processor I’ve been looking for for years. Not in a class with Scrivener or any of the big guys, just something to open quickly and copy articles from the web or to jot down temporary stuff. The criteria have been: free or very cheap, a good set of tools and a tool bar, and highlight colors that don’t stab the eyes. I’ve been making do with Bean for a couple of years, but it’s the eye-stabber. (I do a lot of highlighting, so that’s important.)

I got on one of my software hunting kicks (the person responsible knows who she is), decided on a do or die final hunt. I went through at least half a dozen apps yesterday and finally hit the jackpot — iText Express. Highlight selection is just like Scrivener’s, so I can choose from the whole rainbow. The only thing I can fault the app for so far is that it doesn’t have live word count, but that’s available if I keep the Info tab open. And it’s free. I might pay for the Pro version eventually, just to support the developer.

Stein on Writing just came in the mail. I’m afraid to open it because I know I’ll bury myself in it and lose the rest of the day. I’ll try to hold off until this evening.

Temperature here in southern Michigan reached 62. 62! Gads! It’s going to be Springy for the next 10 days or so. Then we’ll probably have a hard freeze and snow and all the green things that stuck their heads up will get zapped.

Don’t forget about the Smashwords sale. Ends at midnight on the 13th. Smashwords accepts PayPal if you don’t want to give your credit card info to one more site.

That is all.

One thought on “Monday Notes

  1. Ah, the pleasure of reaching through the internet to waste (spend) someone else’s time.

    Hope your new toy is fun.

    And you don’t have to read Stein in one sitting – he bears careful reading (and highlighting).

    I also have had several days which didn’t produce work – staring into the computer is not work, even if I’m sitting here trying. If this continues, I’m going to have to change SOMETHING in my life – I don’t like the feeling. Sorry you’ve had them, too.

Leave a Reply

