Rocks in the Path to Final Draft

Taking a day off from the computer and spending time with the family. They’re both good things, right? And I did manage to get more editing done for a couple of days after that. Not much, but some. And then, nothing. Here it is Sunday again and eight chapters are still waiting. What happened? That question always comes up when I hit a wall. A major interruption like a whole day off doesn’t come along that often, but when it does, it’s like being knocked off the road and then not being able to find my way back to it.

Was the interruption responsible for the way the last week turned into a morass of depressed time-killing and a hunt for a new writing project? Or, as a character in Camp Expendable would say, I was due to get got? This is the stage where it’s most likely to happen–call it burnout, writer’s block, whatever. I’ve worked steadily, the end is in sight, and then it all falls apart. I can’t even look at the darned thing. I want desperately to get going on something new. And I know that’s absolutely stupid and the worst thing I can do.

I did come up with a few ideas that will be worth pursuing — when Expendable is finished. The major one is getting a bunch of short stories published. Most of them are complete, but can use a bit of touching up. That shouldn’t be a big job unless I use it as avoidance and let them get in the way of novel work. I’m going to have to keep a tight hold there because I can see myself too easily drifting back into my hop, skip, jump mode where I never get around to finishing anything.

</> gripe, whine, complain

6 thoughts on “Rocks in the Path to Final Draft

  1. I don’t run into this block, except in the sense I discovered when I finally published: then people will know who I am. It hasn’t turned out to be many people yet, so maybe not a problem, but finishing one meant leaving the pre-published free state.

    There’s ALWAYS a reason when I’m stuck. I just whine and write about it (on the page, not to poor humans) until, having cleared everything away, the reason finally peeks its head out.

    What are you doing? Editing, or proofreading? Or happy with the content, and now going through the publishing steps that are a pain until they aren’t?

    Try to rustle up some of the enthusiasm that made you pick this one as worth writing. I always tell myself I can quit – then review those reasons.

    One thing is for sure: you WILL get through it, same as I will finally finish updating the calendar and get to writing. Because the other option is quitting – and I don’t wanna.

    1. Oh yeah, there’s always a reaspm for being stuck, and I’ll get through it. Always do, but it can be painful. I’m still in the revising stage since there’s *always* something that needs to be changed, no matter how many times I go through it. Why can’t I see those things without having to make zillions of trips through? Maybe it’s the frustration at being so slow to pick up on problems, even if it’s only a sentence construction, that builds up until I burn out. Or it may be that as I become more aware of the possible trip points, there’s more to do, so the job has to take longer. Who knows?

      Never quit. Never quit. Never quit.

    1. For some reason, that triggered a flash of recognition — I’m a writer. That’s my work. I’m not just trying to be something I’m not qualified for. There’s a parallel with the realization that I’m an adult, and I don’t have to keep looking up to other adults as somehow superior. That one took a long time.

Leave a Reply

