When Desperation Drives You

That’s when you’ll do crazy things. Like sign up for Camp NaNoWriMo. Which I just did. Why? Because Camp Expendable has been hanging for almost seven months now, despite having had an excellent beta critique and some major rethinking on my part. Why the rush? Considering the months of prep work I put into it before actually writing it last November during NaNoWriMo, the time is probably close to a year.

I’m more or less normally functional about every other day. The rest of the time, accumulated aches and pains, and fatigue, turn everything I do into a debate about priorities and how much energy any one job will require. Not exactly a situation conducive to sustained work on novel revision.

The first draft of Camp Expendable was 52,394 words. Since then, I’ve done a fair amount of editing and increased the word count to 64,620 words. The scope of the novel means that it really needs to be at least 75,000 words, and that’s what I’ll be aiming for in July. It’s pretty pathetic, really: a goal of just over 10,000 words for an entire month’s work  — 335 words a day. But half the year is gone, and I haven’t done diddly on any of my writing goals for this year. Something has to give. July will be do or die time.

 

 

2 thoughts on “When Desperation Drives You

  1. What is this Camp? Like a boot camp for writers?

    Hmmm. I don’t do deadlines, but I also have to get out of this rut. Of course my rut is technically supposed to end on July 8 – or however long after that it takes to run out. My problem has been getting everything ready. I keep having to work hard at sleeping, and then at writing the next day.

    I don’t do well with one-of-a-kind tasks, so I’ll be glad when this bunch is over, my Amazon page is as good as it’s getting for now, and I can return to writing.

    1. April and July camps are the summer versions of National Novel Writing Month. Instead of the 50,000 word goal, you set your own goals. They try to make it “fun,” as if you’re actually going to camp, with virtual cabins and such. Not interested. I just want a little bit more structure than I can whip up for myself. I put my big effort into the November NaNo, but that’s pretty stressful. Not something I’d do more than once a year, but it’s been very valuable. This is a first for doing a Camp. Maybe it’ll get me over the hump.

Leave a Reply

