No NaNoWriMo For Me This Year

The calendar really caught my attention last night. Right in the middle of thinking through some of the work I need to do on Set Me Free. It’s only three months to National Novel Writing Month! And there is no way I’m going to sacrifice a whole month to a new novel when I’m so far behind in this year’s projects. I’ve said that before, and just went ahead anyway. I wasn’t going to do NaNo last year, but I had a story aching to be written–Camp Expendable. This year, I don’t feel that drive. In fact, the story I was going to write this coming November might just wind up being discarded as a side path I don’t want to follow anymore.

So, this will be one of the few years when I don’t participate in the madness. One year that November isn’t full of stress and exhaustion. But I’ll miss the challenge. I’ve participated almost every year since the first time I entered, so it’s become part of the yearly cycle. But I’m truly at a point where I have so many ongoing writing projects that it would be sheer stupidity to take a month off for a low-priority story.

The timing would be bad, in any case. Set Me Free is awash in a ton of resource material, and a seemingly endless list of topics to develop, with no way to get it all organized. Organization is always my weak point, so a nonfiction book that has an infinite number of sides to explore has inevitably turned into a deep, sucking morass of confusion. I’ve finally caught a glimpse of how to find my way out of the chaos, so any distraction–like prepping for a NaNo novel–would be the worst possible way to spend any time.

Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

